PDA

View Full Version : Portrait: Look Into My Eyes...


theMusicMan
16th November 2007, 12:02 PM
Hi All

Here's a portrait I took recently on one of my Playgroup visits, but I now need to find out how to use the Photoshop spot heal tool!! I want to remove the biscuit crumbs from the little girls mouth and don't know how!!

Here's the image for your feedback pls - another hi-key one from me :)

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/503/PB084156-Edit-Edit.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/242)

Any advice on using Photoshop spot heal (or other more appropriate) tool greatly appreciated folks.

Ta

beardedwombat
16th November 2007, 12:41 PM
Zoom the image area to around 300%, select the spot heal tool, click the little arrow on the brush drop down box and make the diameter 10 pixels, hardness should be ok at 100%, spacing 25%. Simply click on each spot and the tool samples the surrounding pixels and makes the spot the same. Or use the clone tool. Fabulous image, love the eyes!
Chris

theMusicMan
16th November 2007, 01:55 PM
Thanks for the advice there Chris, and for the comments - much appreciated.

How's this one...

http://i198.photobucket.com/albums/aa14/themouthpiecedotcom/jensgroup.jpg

beardedwombat
16th November 2007, 02:12 PM
There you go! Once you figure out or someone shows you how to use the tools in Photoshop it is relatively easy to correct images. The problem is that there is so much to the programme, I have only scratched the surface myself. I am still trying to properly get to grips with layers and masks.
Cheers
Chris

Barr1e
16th November 2007, 09:39 PM
There you go! Once you figure out or someone shows you how to use the tools in Photoshop it is relatively easy to correct images. The problem is that there is so much to the programme, I have only scratched the surface myself. I am still trying to properly get to grips with layers and masks.
Cheers
Chris

Hi Chris -

I would like to learn how to convert an image into b+w and then add colour to say a coat or a post box. I think that is made possible by the layers method?

Regards. Barr1e

emirpprime
16th November 2007, 10:33 PM
There are many ways of doing this Barr1e, and its partly down to personal preference. But before going further with the steps I wanted to clarify something, do you want to remove all colour except form one or more areas? Or remove all colour and then add your own choice of colour (not originally present) to the image? The techniques are slightly different depending.

And yes you were right, while it can be done without layers, using them is the best way to do it.

All the best,
Phil

Barr1e
16th November 2007, 10:43 PM
There are many ways of doing this Barr1e, and its partly down to personal preference. But before going further with the steps I wanted to clarify something, do you want to remove all colour except form one or more areas? Or remove all colour and then add your own choice of colour (not originally present) to the image? The techniques are slightly different depending.

And yes you were right, while it can be done without layers, using them is the best way to do it.

All the best,
Phil

Hi Phil -

The former it is, ie 'remove all colour except from one or more areas'.

Regards. Barr1e

beardedwombat
17th November 2007, 08:59 AM
Hi Barr1e, This is quite easy to do. Assuming you have your image open in Photoshop right click on the 'background' layer in the layers tab and select 'duplicate layer', click ok. You now have two layers the same. Make sure the top layer is selected and go to image/adjustments/channel mixer. Click the 'monochrome' box bottom left corner and the layer will turn b&w, adjust the red/green/blue/ sliders to achieve the look you like and click ok. Now zoom in as required, select the eraser tool (opacity & flow 100%) and adjust the size as appropriate and simply "rub out" the area where you wish to reveal the colour from the layer below, do this in stages so you can step back using the history tab if you "rub out" the wrong bit. Go to Layer/flatten image and 'save as'. Let us see the result!

Here's one I prepared earlier, you may recognize it!!
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/516/Oh-look-a-yummy-human-bw1.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/273)
Cheers
Chris

Barr1e
17th November 2007, 04:03 PM
Hi Barr1e, This is quite easy to do. Assuming you have your image open in Photoshop right click on the 'background' layer in the layers tab and select 'duplicate layer', click ok. You now have two layers the same. Make sure the top layer is selected and go to image/adjustments/channel mixer. Click the 'monochrome' box bottom left corner and the layer will turn b&w, adjust the red/green/blue/ sliders to achieve the look you like and click ok. Now zoom in as required, select the eraser tool (opacity & flow 100%) and adjust the size as appropriate and simply "rub out" the area where you wish to reveal the colour from the layer below, do this in stages so you can step back using the history tab if you "rub out" the wrong bit. Go to Layer/flatten image and 'save as'. Let us see the result!

Here's one I prepared earlier, you may recognize it!!
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/516/Oh-look-a-yummy-human-bw1.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/273)
Cheers
Chris

Hi Chris -

Who could miss that image.

Thanks for the details. We have been in the shops for almost six hours today and just sitting down with a mug of Tetley (tea). The beer comes later with the Indian. If I get time today I'll post the results.

Again thanks so much.

Kindest regards. Barr1e.

Barr1e
17th November 2007, 05:09 PM
Hi Chris -

I forgot to say I was using Photoshop Elements 5.

Following your instructions in a sort of roundabout way (Elements 5 way that is) when I flatten the image I end up with this. Where do you think I went wrong (needle please!)
http://www.smugmug.com/photos/222326879-L.jpg

B

emirpprime
17th November 2007, 09:06 PM
Im afraid I don't have elements to hand to look at, but if you post a quick version of what you did it may become clear. It looks like either both layers were erased or it erased to white instead of transparent. Did it only go like this when flattening?
Incidentally there is no need to flatten seperately, it should happen automatically when saving to jpeg (but tiffs/psds will preserve layers).

Phil

Barr1e
17th November 2007, 09:55 PM
Im afraid I don't have elements to hand to look at, but if you post a quick version of what you did it may become clear. It looks like either both layers were erased or it erased to white instead of transparent. Did it only go like this when flattening?
Incidentally there is no need to flatten seperately, it should happen automatically when saving to jpeg (but tiffs/psds will preserve layers).

Phil

Hi Phil -

First I duplicated the layer.
Then converted to b&w.
Adjusted blue.
Selected eraser and rubbed out the image seen below.
I then flattened - when that occured both thumbnails (layer pix) converted to b&w.
I tried your method of not flattening but saving to jpeg and again I was left with what you see.

http://www.smugmug.com/photos/222402865-L.jpg

Kind regards. B:confused:

emirpprime
17th November 2007, 10:45 PM
Hi Barr1e,

From the (very helpful) image you provided, the issue looks to be that when erasing it is actually leaving white, not transparency behind. Very strange. I have tried replicating this in Photoshop but couldn't. I would try repeating the process (on a test area even, you don't have to use much care), then select the magic wand tool, and click on the white space you create when erasing. It should then be ringed with marching ants. Then hit your delete key. You should then see your colour from the bottom layer coming through.

Let us know how you get on and i'm sure we'll get to the bottom of this eventually!

Phil

ps, just a thought, if it doesn't work, have a look at the colour swatches at the bottom of the tool palette. Click on the little arrow at the top right of them. They will swap over. Try erasing again. Does it now show a different colour?

Barr1e
17th November 2007, 11:07 PM
Hi Barr1e,

From the (very helpful) image you provided, the issue looks to be that when erasing it is actually leaving white, not transparency behind. Very strange. I have tried replicating this in Photoshop but couldn't. I would try repeating the process (on a test area even, you don't have to use much care), then select the magic wand tool, and click on the white space you create when erasing. It should then be ringed with marching ants. Then hit your delete key. You should then see your colour from the bottom layer coming through.

Let us know how you get on and i'm sure we'll get to the bottom of this eventually!

Phil

ps, just a thought, if it doesn't work, have a look at the colour swatches at the bottom of the tool palette. Click on the little arrow at the top right of them. They will swap over. Try erasing again. Does it now show a different colour?

Followed your instructions re magic wand/delete and voila.
http://www.smugmug.com/photos/222424161-L.jpg
Thanks for spending time on this Phil and apart from my grateful thanks I'll be pleased to buy you a beer sometime.

I delved in to my rather thick Photoshop Elements 5 (learn Photoshop Elements the Quick and Easy Way! written by Jeff Carlson and Craig Hoeschen) and it is either not in there or I missed it in my haste before asking the forum how it was achieved.

Again thanks.

Kindest regards. Barr1e

Barr1e
17th November 2007, 11:36 PM
Followed your instructions re magic wand/delete and voila.
http://www.smugmug.com/photos/222424161-L.jpg
Thanks for spending time on this Phil and apart from my grateful thanks I'll be pleased to buy you a beer sometime.

I delved in to my rather thick Photoshop Elements 5 (learn Photoshop Elements the Quick and Easy Way! written by Jeff Carlson and Craig Hoeschen) and it is either not in there or I missed it in my haste before asking the forum how it was achieved.

Again thanks.

Kindest regards. Barr1e

And a beer for Chris of course.

B

emirpprime
17th November 2007, 11:40 PM
No problem Barr1e. Its my pleasure. Sorry I couldn't actually explain why it was acting like that, it has me stumped and as far as i know it shouldn't be doing it! But anyway.


One last tip for now, to provide a nicer (free of errant white) cut out edge:

When you do the magic wand stage, after clicking on the white space...
Go to the top of the screen and click on Select, then down the list there is Modify, click on that, then click on Grow. Input a value of perhaps 6 pixels.
Then go back to your image, still with the magic wand, right click on the white area and select feather, and put in a value of about 4 {make sure the value is less than the previous one}. The bigger the value, the softer the edge, the lower the crisper.
Then hit delete as before.

You may have to change the values depending on the resolution of the photo and size of area selected, probably by making them both larger.

By doing this you both remove any white halo on the cut out (as visible on the trousers for example) and give a slight blur to the cut out that makes it blend with the rest of the image better and gives less of a stuck on top look.

All the best,
Phil

theMusicMan
17th November 2007, 11:42 PM
Excellent stuff guys, and very informative... but I keep getting emails from the site here informing me a reply has been made to my 'Portrait thread' and then when I visit, I am disappointed to see no comments relating to my portrait... :(

Lovely tiger though :)

emirpprime
17th November 2007, 11:55 PM
Sorry John, we got a bit carried away. On the plus side I think it says good things about your portrait. There isn't a lot to say other than Nice one :)

Its a good high key shot, just a hint of chin on the left to give shape, nice sharp eyes. There is something a little fake looking about the eyes and eyebrows, but that might be JPEG artefacts, it just looks a little unnatural. Possibly over sharpening. Did you but a blur layer on and paint back the eyes? But this is being picky! The only other thing I would be tempted to do is clone out the horizontal detail off the models clothes right at the bottom of the frame. Again, not an issue at all, but a possible change.

But its a great photo.

All the best,
Phil

OlyPaul
18th November 2007, 07:55 AM
Hi Barry,

The easy way in Elements 5 (and photoshop)

The easy way,

1- go to layer>New adjustment layer > hue/saturation> Ok it > Move the middle slider all the way to the left> OK it.

2-Click on the paint brush tool and make sure the foreground square is black and paint back the colours in the flowers. If you make a mistake change the colour to white and reverse it.

3- Layer > flatten image and your done

http://www.pbase.com/paulsilkphotography/image/88004491.jpg

OlyPaul
18th November 2007, 07:59 AM
John, a very striking portrait, especially the eyes, but in my opinion the high key effect on the L/H side is to light and looks blown out to my eye.

May I suggest if you are using the Hi-Spot metering mode ( I notice you were using spot metering) to meter the brightest part of the face to diail in -0.3 to -0.7 exposure compensation as this will then still hold a little detail in the brightest part of the face..just a suggestion. :)

theMusicMan
18th November 2007, 08:29 AM
Thanks for the tips Paul... will certainly try that out at my next shoot. Cheers.

beardedwombat
18th November 2007, 09:13 AM
Barr1e, sorry I didn't get back to you yesterday, was out till late. I also don't know why the method I suggested doesn't seem to work with Elements. The only way I can replicate your problem in photoshop is to lock the pixels on the duplicate layer (click the grey box next to the word Lock on the layers tab) but this then shows the little padlock on the duplicate layer which is not the case in your screenshot. Bit of a mystery! Paul S's method should sort the problem for you. Assuming Elements is the same as PS, when you create the new hue/saturation layer, (after moving the saturation slider to the left) if you use the edit drop-down menu at the top of the h/sat dialogue box and select the colours appropriate to your image you can still alter the b/w toning before clicking ok. Have fun playing!!

Apologies to John for hijacking his thread!

Cheers
Chris

theMusicMan
18th November 2007, 09:37 AM
Hehe... no probs matey - I was only having a laff!! It's all good reading...:)

Barr1e
18th November 2007, 11:25 AM
Hehe... no probs matey - I was only having a laff!! It's all good reading...:)

My apologies too John. I was so overawed with your pic and only interested in my own thoughts that I forgot to say I liked it very much. Lots of practice for me now on that theme.

(Thanks to eveyone for the input.)

Regards. Barr1e

Barr1e
18th November 2007, 11:28 AM
Hi Barry,

The easy way in Elements 5 (and photoshop)

The easy way,

1- go to layer>New adjustment layer > hue/saturation> Ok it > Move the middle slider all the way to the left> OK it.

2-Click on the paint brush tool and make sure the foreground square is black and paint back the colours in the flowers. If you make a mistake change the colour to white and reverse it.

3- Layer > flatten image and your done

http://www.pbase.com/paulsilkphotography/image/88004491.jpg


Thanks Paul S, I'll put that to good use later on.

Kind regards. Barr1e

Barr1e
18th November 2007, 01:26 PM
[QUOTE=emirpprime;365]No problem Barr1e. Its my pleasure. Sorry I couldn't actually explain why it was acting like that, it has me stumped and as far as i know it shouldn't be doing it! But anyway.

Well the mystery deepens Phil, but with good news. When retrying your original instructions this morning the program worked as you outlined.

The computer has bags of memory in all departments and is a very fast machine. It would seem though as if it had been overworked yesterday and the upfront memory, perhaps was rather cluttered up and when re-started this morning cleared the memory, so as to speak.

Regards. Barr1e