PDA

View Full Version : 50mm f1.8 OM lens for my E510 - worth buying for low light ?

alaneglinton
14th August 2009, 02:55 PM
Hi folks,

First post and a complete newbie to the slr world.
Been scratching around looikng for cheap lenses and I see the 50mm f1.8 (or 1.4 for a bit more ) come up a lot for 25 ish + OM adaptor for 10.

My questions is would it buy me anything in terms of low light, indoor shots versus my e510 kit lenses (14-42 mm 1:3.5-5.6, 40-150mm 1:4.0-5.6).

Feedback most welcome...

cheers, alan

mike_j
14th August 2009, 03:04 PM
Yes it's worth getting. It will need an adaptor, 10 or so from ebay, bit more if you buy the one with focus confim chip.

It is usful, not only for low light, but where you want a wide aperture to blur the background, isolating the subject. It makes a good pertrait lens.

Archphoto
14th August 2009, 03:13 PM
I have the 1.8/50mm from my OM 1 and use it on my Exxx on occasion.
Good lens, well worth putting it onto the Exxx.

Peter

Graham_of_Rainham
14th August 2009, 03:15 PM
Indoors the 50mm will be a bit long, equavalent to a 100mm. The 24mm f/2.8 is considered to be the best of all the om lenses on the 4/3rds body. I use my one quite frequently and really like the "Old School" feel of working with a fixed length manual lens. Results are very good and 48mm (equiv) is a good indoor working length.

*chr

alaneglinton
14th August 2009, 07:14 PM
Thanks for the great advice everyone, a couple of questions before I go and buy one....

Is the 28mm equivalent to the 50mm in terms of low light capability ?

I think I would be shooting roughly 3-6 feet from my subject (portrait / candid) so is the 28mm better ?

Both answers probably v. obvious to most but I'm just starting out, so bear with me !

Lastly, can you get focus confirmation from any of these lenses ?

Thanks again, alan

Xpres
14th August 2009, 07:59 PM