PDA

View Full Version : Checking image stabilisation function.


Jim Ford
14th July 2009, 07:41 PM
I remember reading, and trying the following test to observe IS working.

1) Select Live view.
2) Select IS 1
3) Zoom live view x10
4) Half press shutter.
5) Watch the screen, you should see evidence of the image being stabilised.

Also if you listen carefully, you can hear the IS servos working.

Now I remember when I tried it being satisfied that it worked, but recently after having some fuzzy images with IS I tried it again and it doesn't seem to be working.

Have I not remembered the procedure correctly, or is my IS 'shot'?

Jim

theMusicMan
14th July 2009, 08:22 PM
Have I not remembered the procedure correctly, or is my IS 'shot'?

Jim
Hi Jim

Nearly got the procedure right. Should be...

4. Press and hold the IS button.

The rest is fine.

Should see the IS in action then on the live view screen.*chr

Jonesgj
14th July 2009, 08:22 PM
I have just tried almost what you suggested.

My settings:

Manual Focus IS1 set to on

1) Select Live view
2) Select IS 1
3) Go to Max Zoom and dimly lit subject
4) Take the shot

While the shot is being taken you can hear a rumble - the IS

Repeat this with IS off and no rumble is heard - IS is off.

Does this help?

Regards

Graydon

theMusicMan
14th July 2009, 08:23 PM
See my post ^^. You can check the IS without taking a shot.

Jonesgj
14th July 2009, 08:31 PM
John I have tried this and nothing is happening.

depressing the IS button on its own just brings up the Is settings. When in AF mode and depressing IS while half depressing shutter I can hear noise, but I think this is the AF. Switching to MF - no noise, reinforcing the F theory

Not sure what I am doing wrong.

However, while the shot is taken there is no doubt IS is working if it is switched on - well it rumbles !

Graydon

theMusicMan
14th July 2009, 08:32 PM
2 mins... lemme check on my E-3.

theMusicMan
14th July 2009, 08:36 PM
Yep, that's right. Here's what I did...

1. Turn on Live View
2. focus on something - preferably with a long focal length lens on camera
3. Press 'OK' to zoom in using Liveview to 10x
4. Press and hold the IS button - this activates the IS mechanism and one can see the effect on the screen.

Does this not work for you?

peak4
14th July 2009, 08:41 PM
Graydon, looking at your signature gives me a hint to the answer.
Your query is posted in the E-3 section, but it looks like you have an E-620.
It's my understanding that as part of the battery saving measures in the 620 (with the smaller battery) the IS only kicks in at the point of exposure.
My E-3 is on holiday in Portugal at the moment, but I do remember that you can see the IS effect in live view.
Just tried the same with my 620 and like you, I see no effect, but the final image certainly seems that it has worked at the point of the actual exposure.

Jonesgj
14th July 2009, 08:44 PM
Thanks guys .... Sorry about the confusion ... I have just trried this on my E-520 and it works as stated, and as you say its the E-620 acting differently. Sorry about my haste to help.....:o

peak4
14th July 2009, 11:19 PM
Thanks guys .... Sorry about the confusion ... I have just trried this on my E-520 and it works as stated, and as you say its the E-620 acting differently. Sorry about my haste to help.....:o

Looks like I added my bit without reading the thread thoroughly enough myself. I thought it was you who started the thread, not Jim.
Ho Hum, must get more sleep.

250swb
15th July 2009, 07:13 AM
Surely the easy way to do this is simply mount the camera on a tripod and set it to a long exposure with IS switched on, and you should hear the IS working. Try it again with it switched off for the difference. Note, you should not normally have IS switched on when using a tripod.

Steve