PDA

View Full Version : Appailed by Olympus Service: FS3 grid screen for E30


padgreen
26th May 2009, 01:19 PM
Hi, I can't quite believe this. I'm about to buy an E30. The specs on the Olympus website say that the focusing screen is interchangeable and you can fit an FS3 grid screen instead of the normal matte one.

With the E1 you could change the screen yourself. With the E3 and the E30 you have to return it to Olympus. So I've just rung Olympus to find out how much this would cost and how to get it done. A fairly simple question you would have thought. No, they didn't have a clue and I'm left wondering whether I should be buying an Olympus camera at all.

I rang the Customer Service nos on the Olympus UK website. The first person I spoke too knew nothing about the procedure or the cost saying "we just do repairs here". He told me to contact Technical Support. So I rang them. Except the nos on the Olympus website doesn't work, at least not when ringing from my mobile. However, you can speak to the Technical Support people by pressing Option 2 on the Customer Service Nos.

Technical Support knew nothing either "we don't do repairs here" and said that I should ring Customer Service in the UK. So I told them that I had just spoken to Customer Service and they told me to ring Technical Support. So the person I was talking to went away to ask someone and came back and said yes you can fit as FS3 focusing screen but you do need to speak to Customer Service. I was a getting a bit exasperated by this point.

I then rang Customer Service in the UK again. The person I spoke didn't know anything about the FS3 focusings screen, how to fit it or what it costs. He said he would ask his manager. He then came back and said that the manager didn't know either but they would look the information up and ring me back.

About five minutes later the person I had been speaking to rang me back. They still didn't know. They couldn't find any information about the procedure or what it costs at all. They said the best they could do would be for me to send the camera in for repair and then they would then give me a quote for the cost. I couldn't quite believe this so I said that surely they knew how much it costs as it must be standard procedure. The answer was no, we won't know until we have a look.

I then said that the Olympus website makes very clear that both the E3 and the E30 have interchangeble screens and so there must be a fixed price for the job, they must know what the screen costs and how long it takes to fit it.

The person I was speaking to said it wasn't listed in any of their repairs documentation and so they didn't know.

I said that I wasn't going to buy a camera and send it in without knowing how much it was going to cost. The person I was speaking too said they had never come across it before but I could always try ringing Luton Cameras who repair Olympus equipment.

Exasperated doesn't really sum it up. I can' believe that Customer Service doesn't know how much it costs to fit a FS3 or that they don't even know what an FS3 screen is.

So if anyone has any ideas I be grateful.

oly_om
26th May 2009, 03:08 PM
Luton cameras should be able to help you. The reality is it is a little bit more fiddly, but you can change it yourself.

Andy

Archphoto
26th May 2009, 04:41 PM
This is a bit the problem in general with Olympus: they have no answers to questions that are not asked daily.

I am thinking about an E30 myself and some modifications I would love to implement.
I asked them about the pin configuration of the 10 pin mini-USB connector: no answer, we don't understand what you are asking........
I wanted to have the position of the on-off switch of my E520 moved/turned to the setup from the E410: sory, imposible (> we don't want to do that)

Oly seems to have themselves setup for the amateur market with amateur questions................ stupid !

Peter

padgreen
26th May 2009, 05:36 PM
I got the camera today. Still can't get over Olympus' Customer Service. I'll give Luton Cameras a ring, I've had stuff repaired by them before.

If you want an E30 Cameraworld in Well's Street in London, off Oxford Street, have them for 749. I think they only have a couple left.

stevednp3
26th May 2009, 05:36 PM
What you are asking for is modification, which most of the Olympus Call Centre staff wont have answers for. You best bet would be to ask a dedicated camera shop for advice before buying the camera.

In all fairness to Olympus they have excellent support for all standard questions. Well in my experience that is :)

padgreen
26th May 2009, 05:48 PM
It may be a modification, but it's one they list on the E30 specs on their website so I don't think its that unusual a question. I don't think it's too much to expect them to know or to be able to find out. The point being that the person I spoke to at Olympus Customer Service went and spoke to a manager who tried looking it up in their documentation and they couldn't find anything about the screen at all.

Zuiko
26th May 2009, 06:17 PM
Oh dear, it's Corporate Communication Syndrome! :eek:

Sometimes in the bank where I work we have a customer come in with a question about a new product or service that we have not heard anything about. Usually a few phone calls within the organisation solves the problem, but it's not always easy to track down the right department. Days later, of course, we receive a staff briefing which, had it been delivered about a week earlier, would have saved a lot of embarrisment and wasted time. :o

I'm sure Olympus UK Customer Services will eventually receive full documentation covering the procedure from Japan! :rolleyes:

Barr1e
26th May 2009, 06:36 PM
Hi Padgreen -

I hope you enjoy your camera.

I'm quite blown over with the IQ Anne is getting from hers. t-up

Regards. Barr1e

padgreen
26th May 2009, 06:56 PM
Hi Barr1e. Thanks, I'm looking forward to taking it out and trying it, once I've worked my way through the manual and found where everything is. One big plus point already though, I'm pleased to see that there is a proper printed manual in the box: when I got my E1 there was only a printed version of the basic manual.

ringneck
26th May 2009, 07:48 PM
It's not only customer service that have no answers.
Sorry to repeat myself as I mentioned this on here just after i joined.
It only took one of you guys minutes to sort me out.

It was when I was at the N.E.C. focus on imaging in Feb. and even the top guy on the OLY stand did not know how I could turn off the auto pop up flash on the 500 or 510..(I was,as usual too lazy to read the manual).........ASTONISHING REALLY.

Keith *chr

oly_om
26th May 2009, 08:06 PM
It's not only customer service that have no answers.
Sorry to repeat myself as I mentioned this on here just after i joined.
It only took one of you guys minutes to sort me out.

It was when I was at the N.E.C. focus on imaging in Feb. and even the top guy on the OLY stand did not know how I could turn off the auto pop up flash on the 500 or 510..(I was,as usual too lazy to read the manual).........ASTONISHING REALLY.

Keith *chr

That is, frankly, a bit p*** poor. Not exactly a specialist question...

Andy