PDA

View Full Version : Exposure bracketing


crimbo
21st May 2009, 07:03 PM
Tell me ... have any of the E system camers now got exposure bracketing of +/- 2 stops...for HDR capture?

DekHog
21st May 2009, 07:30 PM
I know the E-1 does 5 stops at 1EV, so that's the same thing - I would imagine that the E-3 does the same. As far as I know none of them actually do a bracket sequence of three shots using +/-2EV.

theMusicMan
21st May 2009, 08:37 PM
Yep, the E-3 has this feature, and one can select from

3 frames @ 0.3EV
3 frames @ 0.7EV
3 frames @ 1.0EV
5 frames @ 0.3EV
5 frames @ 0.7EV
5 frames @ 1.0EV

I use a MyMode to select AEB, ISO200, 5fps whenever I want to take a 5 shot bracketed set. Several results of this (http://www.reflectingme.com/p566719792) on my gallery.

Barr1e
21st May 2009, 10:06 PM
http://www.wrotniak.net/photo/43/e3-sett.html#MYMO

Regards. Barr1e

PaulE
21st May 2009, 10:12 PM
The E410 and E510 only do 3 exposures at + / - 0.3, 0.7 or 1 stop and I believe the E420 / E520 are the same.

Nick Temple-Fry
21st May 2009, 11:06 PM
It would be nice to be able to set the E-3 to do 7 bracketted exposures, as 5 do not span sufficient range to do a church interior in natural light (at 1 ev intervals). Anything less than seven tends to leave pronounced grain effects in the shadows.

Nick

Fluffy
22nd May 2009, 12:28 AM
The G-1 will auto bracket up to 7 shots in either 2/3 or 1/3 stop increments. The 2/3 goes from -2 to + 2. You have some control of the order (0/+/- or -/0/+). Five and three step bracketing is also available in both 1/3 and 2/3 stop increments.

Steve

Nick Temple-Fry
22nd May 2009, 12:40 AM
Well 7 shots is an improvement - but in a natural lit English church using matrix metering I tend to need -5 to + 1, on a very bright day even that is insufficient (as the shadows stay dark but the windows get brighter).

OK - a particular application - but not an untypical/unreasonable use of hdr and bracketting.

Nick