PDA

View Full Version : Jobo GPS


glenachulish
10th April 2009, 08:30 AM
Just read a positive review of this in AP and wondered if anyone on the site had used this device..... Having location data attached to all my photos certainly appeals in terms of finding photos in Lightroom.

Wreckdiver
10th April 2009, 09:20 AM
Just read a positive review of this in AP and wondered if anyone on the site had used this device..... Having location data attached to all my photos certainly appeals in terms of finding photos in Lightroom.

Have you got a link?

Steve

glenachulish
10th April 2009, 09:31 AM
Link here: http://www.intro2020.co.uk/pages/jobogps.htm

Warehouse Express stock them.

Wreckdiver
10th April 2009, 09:59 AM
I don't have one but this is something that would interest me, being able to accurately position locations at sea would be very useful. At 156 though this would be hard to justify.

This would be something that could be a feature of future Olympus DSLRs. Doesn't one of the Canikons have this feature already?

Steve

Ian
10th April 2009, 11:07 AM
The Jobo unit is clever because it doesn't need time to warm up. It takes a snapshot of the data from visible satellites and processes the data later to determine a GPS location fix. It uses technology developed by Geotate.

I don't think any Canon or Nikon cameras have a GPS built in, but I think Nikon has a GPS-compatible data port on some of its DSLR bodies.

Ian

Wreckdiver
10th April 2009, 11:19 AM
I don't think any Canon or Nikon cameras have a GPS built in, but I think Nikon has a GPS-compatible data port on some of its DSLR bodies.

Ian

Found it, not a DSLR but the Coolpix 6000 has this built in: Coolpix 6000 (http://www.nikonproducts.co.uk/coolpix-p6000.aspx)

Steve

Gwyver
10th April 2009, 04:56 PM
I don't have one but this is something that would interest me, being able to accurately position locations at sea would be very useful. At 156 though this would be hard to justify.
...
Steve

For that kind of money you can buy a handheld GPS (eg a Garmin or similar) which is much more versatile, especially if you go hillwalking, sailing or similar. Then in conjunction with freeware such as Geosetter http://www.geosetter.de/en/index.html it is very easy to Geotag your photos.

IMO the lengthy GPS cold-start times stated on the Jobo website are either out of date or very unrealistic. A cold start time > 1 minute for a handheld GPS is rather unusual these days.

BTW, Geosetter also makes it easy to Geotag images for which you don't have any corresponding GPS tracklog data.

Ian
10th April 2009, 05:46 PM
For that kind of money you can buy a handheld GPS (eg a Garmin or similar) which is much more versatile, especially if you go hillwalking, sailing or similar. Then in conjunction with freeware such as Geosetter http://www.geosetter.de/en/index.html it is very easy to Geotag your photos.

IMO the lengthy GPS cold-start times stated on the Jobo website are either out of date or very unrealistic. A cold start time > 1 minute for a handheld GPS is rather unusual these days.

BTW, Geosetter also makes it easy to Geotag images for which you don't have any corresponding GPS tracklog data.

The thing about the Jobo unit is that you can switch it on and it's ready straight away. There is no waiting. Yes, it's a dedicated device, so it's much less versatile, but it's compact, fits onto the hot shoe, and works instantly.

It's not for everyone, but it's a clever device that's designed to be very good at doing a particular task.

Ian

padgreen
10th April 2009, 06:43 PM
I was going to get the Jobo until I found out that it only worked on Intel Macs, I've got a PowerPC G5 Dual. It's a shame because I thought the Jobo sounded like a much more elegant solution than the alternatives. The problem with hand held units like the Garmin, as I understand it, is that you have to make sure the internal clock on the unit and your camera are in sync. It's an added hastle that I'd like to avoid. I want something that I can attach to the camera and have it work.

ianc
10th April 2009, 06:47 PM
I got my hands on one of these Jobo GPS things for a few days. It's a great little device. You just charge it up from USB pop it on the camera's hot shoe and forget about it. When you take a picture it switches it's self on takes a reading and powers down, this takes about 2 seconds. It can hold 1,000 readings and the battery lasts for up to 4 weeks. The adding of the geotaging info to the pictures is automatic and it's compatible with google maps. It worked well with my E3. And yes I'm buying one.

Ian C.

DTD
11th April 2009, 08:48 AM
I think gps will be a regular feature on compacts before long.
The new version of Apple iPhoto lets you organise photos by position and put them on a map etc.
For my cctv series I record the position of the cameras (pain in the b** as I do it by finding the place on GoogleEarth!).

The Saint
11th April 2009, 09:00 AM
I've had a dedicated Sony GPS geotagger for a few years now. Although it is designed for Sony cameras it apparently works fine with any make.

The device itself is quite small and have it clipped to my camera bag the whole time, runs on a single AA battery. The accuracy is reasonable, generally within a couple of metres.

I currently only tag my Jpegs, which can be done with the included software. There is lots of 3rd party software around to convert GPS files so I'm sure if I looked hard enough there will be a way to tag RAW files too. I've converted the GPS tracks previously into routes on google map and the like, to record hikes I have done.

I've found the geotag to be really useful to help me remember where I have taken images, and although I don't think Olympus should provide a built in GPS to their camera (would increase weight and battery drain) a dedicated separate device would be good.

Regards

Simon

Ian
11th April 2009, 11:18 AM
I've had a dedicated Sony GPS geotagger for a few years now. Although it is designed for Sony cameras it apparently works fine with any make.

The device itself is quite small and have it clipped to my camera bag the whole time, runs on a single AA battery. The accuracy is reasonable, generally within a couple of metres.

I currently only tag my Jpegs, which can be done with the included software. There is lots of 3rd party software around to convert GPS files so I'm sure if I looked hard enough there will be a way to tag RAW files too. I've converted the GPS tracks previously into routes on google map and the like, to record hikes I have done.

I've found the geotag to be really useful to help me remember where I have taken images, and although I don't think Olympus should provide a built in GPS to their camera (would increase weight and battery drain) a dedicated separate device would be good.

Regards

Simon

http://dpnow.com/files/forum/sonygps.jpg

Is yours the Sony GPS-CS1KA (above) - I have one of these. It's compatible with most cameras, not just Sonys.

Ian

Ian
11th April 2009, 11:20 AM
I think gps will be a regular feature on compacts before long.
The new version of Apple iPhoto lets you organise photos by position and put them on a map etc.
For my cctv series I record the position of the cameras (pain in the b** as I do it by finding the place on GoogleEarth!).

GE, a new player in value compacts, announced a compact using the Geotate technology but it was never launched. Their official explanation was that they needed concentrate on their value offering before indulging in relatively pricey feature models.

Ian

The Saint
11th April 2009, 01:43 PM
http://dpnow.com/files/forum/sonygps.jpg

Is yours the Sony GPS-CS1KA (above) - I have one of these. It's compatible with most cameras, not just Sonys.

Ian

That it Ian. Have a garmin too, but the Sony is small and uncomplicated (one button to turn it on and off only), so keep it with the camera at all times.

Just need to work out how to geotag RAW files and not just jpeg's, which is what the supplied software does.

If I remember correctly it cost my about 75.

Regards

Simon