PDA

View Full Version : How to maintain Exif information


Jonesgj
18th March 2009, 10:44 PM
Hi all,

Using CS2 and selecting the "Save for web" option to reduce the size to the required for the photo competitions (no other processing) I am losing the exif information. Can anyone help me by telling me what I am doing wrong.

Its just a high quality Jpg from an e-520, straight into CS2 and then resaved.

Thanks in advance

Graydon

shenstone
18th March 2009, 11:43 PM
Yes - you're using save for the web - Adobe in it's wisom assumed taht means strip out every extra character possible to make the file as small as possible and that includes EXIF

Just use save as and select appropriate parameters

(or of course use some well behaved software!)

Regards
Andy

theMusicMan
19th March 2009, 07:50 AM
Exactly as Andy says Graydon, just use Save-As not Save-for Web.

Jonesgj
19th March 2009, 07:54 PM
Thanks Guys ...

...and to make sure its of a certain size, for competitions etc.. you would just adjust the image size first, then 'save as', and select the properties to get the approx required file size.... As long as I dont over-write the original :D

When I am getting the size right for printing I usually create a background of the correct dimensions and drag and drop my photo to it, so this (above)seems to be a good alternative method for posting on the web.

Thanks again

Graydon

Jonesgj
19th March 2009, 08:01 PM
I might even re-do some of my first posts this way ... might even submit them to the "Looking For Perfection" Forum if I feel brave.

Hiflyman
20th March 2009, 11:17 AM
There is another way that you may or may not be aware of.

Download for free

http://www.irfanview.com/

Then in the batch conversions options you can specify include or exclude exif.
Nice an easy - It took ten minutes to resize 700 tiff's last night.

I hope this info helps you.

Regards

Alan

Jonesgj
20th March 2009, 02:31 PM
Thanks Hiflyman. I have downloaded Irfanview but not had a chance to play with it. That said when you spend money on programs (I have CS2 and elements 6) you hope they will do what you want!

Regards

Graydon

Ian
20th March 2009, 03:12 PM
Thanks Hiflyman. I have downloaded Irfanview but not had a chance to play with it. That said when you spend money on programs (I have CS2 and elements 6) you hope they will do what you want!

Regards

Graydon

If you have Photoshop CS2, it has very powerful batch capabilities. And if you have CS2, why bother with Elements 6?

Ian

shenstone
20th March 2009, 03:41 PM
If you have Photoshop CS2, it has very powerful batch capabilities.

Ian

Yes, but power and ease of use don't always come together !

I admit it's not the worst feature, but even Adobe state "Lightroom for the many, Photoshop for the one"

Caveat... My opinion on this Software companies offerings is tainted by coming from a myriad of other things that are so easy to get started with and use that I have to be really stuck before I reach for CS3

Regards
Andy

Jonesgj
20th March 2009, 03:55 PM
If you have Photoshop CS2, it has very powerful batch capabilities. And if you have CS2, why bother with Elements 6?

Ian

I bought Elements 6 before CS2. I got a full version of CS2 at a bargain price.

I do use Action scripts for batch processing, e.g. for adding water marks and reducing file sizes/dimension, but my scripts currently use "Save for Web" for reducing pictures, and this is how we arrive at the subject of this thread.

Regards

Graydon

Hiflyman
20th March 2009, 04:55 PM
Graydon

Someone beat me to it, but just create an action in cs2 reduce image size and save to a folder - stop action. Run batch action on folder with images to resize to same or different folder - exif saved.

With Infranview you just open the batch conversion tab for processing file s- select folder drag or "Add all" to the list. Select image quality options from next tab on the left. Use the advanced tab to select resize option, select destination folder resharpen etc. then push the start button. You can also add copyright, watermarks - adjust exif - run slideshows and lots of other options quicker than cs2, but both have their own benefits.

Alan

Jonesgj
20th September 2009, 07:43 AM
Okay,

What's happening to my Exif?

I managed to get out late Friday night to do something for the lates competition - motion. Back in my study I:

1 - Converted the ORF to a DNG
2 - Opened the DNG in CS2
3 - I tweaked the levels, sharpness.
4 - Altered the image size by using the 'Image' menu, and then the 'Image Size' Option.
5 - I then used the 'File' menu to 'Save as' JPG.
6 - Opened in Wndows Picture and Fax Viewer.
7 - Checked Exif .... and it had gone:eek:
( except for creation date and basic things like camera model)

I was very puzzled because this has worked before.

So I tried again.

Still the same.

Then I repeated but left out step 3

Still the same.


Then tried lots of other things until my eyes couldnt stay open any longer and the deadline was looming.


So I didnt enter, but had lots of fun as the pictures involved pictures in the back garden and I was helped by my children - We know how precious time is with them!


So I had to work yesterday and now is the best time (clear head) for me to look at the issue again.


I have started with a quick review of the photos produced, this time checking the Exif in PhotoShop Bridge. and I can see Exif :confused: I checked it again in Wndows Picture and Fax Viewer - and its the same as Friday night (see 7 above)

So I checked other, older images using Windows Picture and Fax Viewer where I know I have used the same techniques ... and the full Exif is there!

So I have just run the process again but leaving out step 3 to be on the safe side and ..... no Exif in Windows Picture and Fax Viewer. However, there is exif in Bridge.

So is it my process for checking the Exif in Windows Picture and Fax Viewer ? Should I use other software - Bridge* for example.

I am now going to upload some shots where I can't see the Exif in Windows Picture and Fax Viewer, but can in Bridge to see whether the Exif is seen by the Gallery.




*PhotoShop Bridge is the free 'viewer' application that comes with CS2

Jonesgj
20th September 2009, 07:54 AM
Added a test photo following the above process - no Exif in Windows Picture and Fax viewer, Exif okay in Bridge, Exif okay in Gallery.

Frustrating... but maybe I have only proved what is already known.

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/exifTest_Stamford.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/17944)

theMusicMan
20th September 2009, 08:19 AM
Yep - all EXIF is there for me on my Mac when I view with my Firefox plug in.

PS: Smashing test pic as well :)