PDA

View Full Version : Catalogs, settings and Back-ups on LR


Antonio Correia
4th August 2018, 01:22 PM
I have 1 MacBook + 1 iMac + 1 LaCie drive. I work with all my available images stored in the last device with one computer or the other.

Sometimes I make Back-ups

And - sometimes - I used to erase the created folders. Not any more. Each time I erased and old Back-up I had problems about missing Presets. Now "I make collections on Back-ups" Back-ups !

Perhaps this is a stupid solution but it is the way to save some hours of work. However, it is space consuming.

To make it short, I have opened and unzipped two folders. Not randomly but never mind, for now.

Today, when I ran the back-up from 20018-08-03 (blue rectangle) and clicked on the 2002 cat-2-2.lrcat (red rectangle) some UserPresets (red rectangle and arrow) were missing.

Here, you tell me: replace the folder by the old one. One solution. Will it work ? Perhaps.

Well... the question is: how can I have one Back-up (one and only) with all the updated Presets ?
https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-g33RnRL/0/656c63ec/XL/i-g33RnRL-XL.jpg

DerekW
4th August 2018, 06:01 PM
I think that this video by Julieanne Kost will explain how to use presets on two machines

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=My10kpBxeB0

I think this will explain how to have a common Lightroom on two machines.

Otherwise sorry

Naughty Nigel
6th August 2018, 10:32 AM
Almost every other subscription app synchronises across licensed machines as an option at least. I am surprised that Adobe doesn't allow this.

Antonio Correia
6th August 2018, 04:02 PM
I haven't seen Julieanne Cost, yet.
However, I have copied and with success all the settings included in the 2017 Lightroom Settings' (in red) to the corresponding folder in 2018 (in blue)
I made a back-up of the older folders and then I erased them all.
It solved my problem. Now LR is working nicely with my previous presets.

One detail: I will not back up again any time soon !
Unless I repeat the copy as described...

So, LR is set to never make Catalogs back-up at shut-down.
My solution came from Jim Wilde (https://www.lightroomqueen.com/community/threads/catalogs-settings-and-back-ups.35609/#post-1234277) to whom I have not yet thanked !

I would suggest you to read the fantastic explanation.
Now, I will start LR always from the same saved Catalog !

Thank you all for the comments. I will not fail to see Julieanne Cost video !

https://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-mQBVbF6/0/8045f889/XL/i-mQBVbF6-XL.jpg

Antonio Correia
6th August 2018, 09:28 PM
I have just seen the video.
Fantastic. That wrap up the hole thing.
A bit tricky but I will get there.
Thank you so much ! :)

DerekW
6th August 2018, 10:14 PM
Good - I thought the video would be a lot more informative than me trying to describe the process with my ill formed english grammar.

Antonio Correia
6th August 2018, 11:36 PM
Derek, did you have a look at Jim Wilde's link ?
Perhaps the video is better...
:)