PDA

View Full Version : Remote release


Chris Hall
11th June 2017, 09:51 AM
I realise this topic has been covered before but can anyone please give me an up-to-date recommendation for both a wired and wireless remote release for my newly purchased Mark II. Many thanks.

Michael Sewell
11th June 2017, 09:57 AM
Wired would be any number of 2.5mm jack compatible remotes, often cited as Canon compatible.

As for wireless, there's the WiFi option and using your phone. Or you can make use of flash radio triggers, as many double as camera releases, and again you just need the 2.5mm jack.

If a specific recommendation, I would potentially say any of the Yongnuo triggers, and get their Canon version as it will have the correct cable included.
As for wired, I'd take a look at the main 3rd party vendors, possibly iShoot (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RS-60E3-Remote-Shutter-Release-control-switch-for-Canon-EOS-1100D-750D-700D-60D/172694227537).

Chris Hall
11th June 2017, 10:05 AM
Thanks so much!

Bengeo
11th June 2017, 10:20 AM
This Canon one works fine: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00007EE78/

Or you can buy the Olympus version for just 45 more ......

Michael Sewell
11th June 2017, 10:41 AM
This Canon one works fine: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00007EE78/

Or you can buy the Olympus version for just 45 more ......

LOL, but so true

:D

Clockwork Donkey
11th June 2017, 07:00 PM
Hahnel also do them. Good quality at a reasonable (i.e. Not Olympus) price.

Chris Hall
11th June 2017, 07:01 PM
Thanks everyone. I think I'll try the phone app initially and see if I like it.

DanC.Licks
12th June 2017, 06:43 AM
I just use the phone app, works fine.... though I did have to buy a "new" iPhone 4s for 100 after an E-M1 firmware update a while back that included a newer version of the app that would not work on my iPhone 3. Oh well... I do use the phone now and again for other purposes, like sending an SMS or even making a call, but basically I just use it as a remote for the camera.

blu-by-u
13th June 2017, 07:23 AM
If you have any of the other cable release RM-UC1 from the older OMD series, you can try the Hack I did..it starts from post #17
http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=44019