PDA

View Full Version : Anyone suggest a remote shutter release for my E-3...


theMusicMan
27th December 2007, 11:49 PM
Hey All

I am after a remote shutter release for my E-3. Can be wired or wireless - not bothered either way really but I guess wired would be just as good in this case as it's only for photographing the birds I see at my feeding table in the garden.

I have seen loads of variety over the last few days, but really need a cable release which I cam sure I could put to good effect.

Ta

beardedwombat
27th December 2007, 11:58 PM
I bought one of these: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/HQ-Remote-Switch-for-Olympus-E300-E1-E10-E20-RM-CB1_W0QQitemZ180152798138QQihZ008QQcategoryZ64345Q QcmdZViewItem. It took a couple of weeks to get here but works very well.
Chris

peak4
28th December 2007, 01:14 AM
Hi I think it's worth reading this thread from over the pond. It looks like there is a bit of a design issue with the socket on the camera getting pushed back into the body. It looks like Olympus's fix is superglue.
http://www.fourthirdsphoto.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=19761

I'm not yet convinced its waterproof without the little screw on cap either.

My dirt cheap infra red Chinese remote seems to work ok at short distances.

Chillimonster
28th December 2007, 09:43 AM
I Use one of the cheap IR remotes, but you will either need a small mirror, or be in front of the camera for it to work.

I have been looking at one of the 100m RF remotes - i used on on my 40d when i had it and they work - as they say - up to 100m, so a lot more versatile.

Chris

Ijay37
28th December 2007, 04:50 PM
The Olympus RM-CB1 made originally for the E-1 fits the E-3 as well, it is about 1.25mtrs long.
John*crazyxmas