PDA

View Full Version : New Firmware 1.1 Released


wornish
2nd March 2017, 08:10 AM
Olympus have released a new firmware update for the EM1mk2.

Just installed it using Olympus Camera Updater.

Only one improvement according to this site.

http://www.43rumors.com

Goon525
2nd March 2017, 08:18 AM
It seems very strange that they've only improved the RAW file formation stability. I think most of us were expecting something more comprehensive. It does suggest something urgently needed fixing in that respect, though.

Bikie John
2nd March 2017, 09:57 AM
Perhaps the "instability" was causing lock-ups? If so it's important and a good thing if it's fixed.

John

Goon525
2nd March 2017, 10:00 AM
I've just installed and it's worked. Make sure you have the latest version of the Oly updater on your computer as it will save and reload all your settings. Which is useful.

Clockwork Donkey
2nd March 2017, 10:59 AM
Just successfully updated mine. I do wonder what they mean by "stability" and why it is worthy of an update by itself.

andym
2nd March 2017, 11:24 AM
I notice there was an update to Viewer also, something to do with Raw files(didn't take to much notice).
Probably connected.
I've not done it yet as I normally wait a few days before updating.

c12402
2nd March 2017, 04:38 PM
Done... apparently it works again, presets are automatically saved and restored.

Greytop
2nd March 2017, 10:54 PM
All done here too.

pdk42
2nd March 2017, 11:12 PM
The fact they Oly have raced out an update with a single change tells me that this is an urgent patch to fix a problem that they deem sufficiently serious to go through the release update process. It would be really interesting to know what the problem is that they've fixed. Has anyone noticed anything odd about raw files?

Beagletorque
3rd March 2017, 07:56 AM
Instability of raw files causing the camera to lockup? Check sum issue may be?

Maria
3rd March 2017, 09:26 AM
I've just updated my camera to the latest firmware. My update worked OK and claimed to backup and restore all my settings, however C1, C2 and C3 are all now set to 1/320 and f4 - all were different before the update. The other custom settings for these seem OK - as far as I can tell - though I've not trawled through all the menus to see if anything else is missing (that is, if I can remember what was there).

Before doing the update, I also used the updater to save my settings - I've also tried loading this earlier version too, with exactly the same results. Has anyone come across anything else not saved?

Clockwork Donkey
3rd March 2017, 09:36 AM
Very odd. All my settings, including those on the custom dial were reloaded perfectly. Are you using the latest version of the updater?

DerekW
3rd March 2017, 09:57 AM
Do the new format RAW files get read by Lightroom?

Maria
3rd March 2017, 10:06 AM
Very odd. All my settings, including those on the custom dial were reloaded perfectly. Are you using the latest version of the updater?

Yes, as far as I know - it claims to be version 2. Not knowing I already had it installed (it's my first Olympus update), I tried to download it from the link on the update instructions - when I tried to install, it claimed it was already there and up to date. Others have reported similar on DPreview's forum. My C1, etc, are all based on using Manual, if this makes any difference and (as far as I can tell so far) only the aperture and speed have been missed, other settings were saved.

Bikie John
3rd March 2017, 10:07 AM
Derek - I believe Lightroom (presumably along with Adobe Camera Raw) has "provisional" support. I think this means that it will open them OK but you might be missing some of the finer points.

John

Clockwork Donkey
3rd March 2017, 10:11 AM
LR still opens the RAW files after the firmware update, but as the PP has stated there is only provisional support at present.

Grumpy Hec
3rd March 2017, 12:59 PM
The fact they Oly have raced out an update with a single change tells me that this is an urgent patch to fix a problem that they deem sufficiently serious to go through the release update process. It would be really interesting to know what the problem is that they've fixed. Has anyone noticed anything odd about raw files?

Have had a few incidents of the card being read for ages when switching on and also if I've removed/reinserted the card. I've put it down to the SD card but who knows.

I have also had problems with both LR and PS trying to stitch a panorama. Just says unexpected error and leaves it at that.

Both of these could logically be down to RAW file problems but unproven as yet.

Hec

Gwyver
3rd March 2017, 01:07 PM
I've just updated my camera to the latest firmware. My update worked OK and claimed to backup and restore all my settings, however C1, C2 and C3 are all now set to 1/320 and f4 - all were different before the update. The other custom settings for these seem OK - as far as I can tell - though I've not trawled through all the menus to see if anything else is missing (that is, if I can remember what was there).

Before doing the update, I also used the updater to save my settings - I've also tried loading this earlier version too, with exactly the same results. Has anyone come across anything else not saved?

Maria,
My experience was similar - except it changed to shutter = 1/400 and aperture = F4.5
I also noticed that the Exp Comp setting which I have specified for the C1, C2 & C3 modes had reverted to 0.

I surmised that post-update settings reload may use the shutter, aperture, ExpComp values that applied to Manual Mode prior to the update.

However, I then reloaded the Camera settings from a previously created Settings file but this also failed to re-establish my previous Custom mode shutter/Aperture & ExpComp values.

So this does seem like a bug/oversight in the v2 Camera Updater program. I shall email Olympus tech support regarding this issue.

Gwyver
6th March 2017, 12:29 PM
As mentioned above, I contacted Olympus support noting:
"I have recently updated my camera firmware to v1.1.
On completion of this update the Olympus CameraUpdater program re-applied my Main & Custom settings values.

However the Manual mode shutter speed, lens aperture & Exp Comp. values that I had previously saved for each C1, C2, & C3 configuration were NOT restored.
...
Is this a CameraUpdater feature or a bug?
If intentional this is a serious shortcoming which reduces the benefit of the Save/Restore settings feature in CameraUpdater v2."

The repsonse from Olympus was:
"You are very correct in your thinking. The restore function works with all pre-programmed settings.
A pre-programed setting does not include dial-in settings like shutter speed and Aperture."

Given that the camera does remember the 'dial-in settings' which have been assigned for each Custom mode (and restores them following Power-off & on), it seems illogical that these values aren't included in the settings file created by Camera Updater.

Goon525
6th March 2017, 12:31 PM
I agree with you, Chris.

Maria
6th March 2017, 02:31 PM
It doesn't make sense - the whole idea of having C1 - 3 is to save settings that can then be quickly accessed - including preferred aperture and speed. I've now contacted support too - maybe if enough people complain, they'll change it.

Maria
7th March 2017, 12:26 PM
This is the response I got from Olympus support - it looks like they have listened...

At this time I have to advise that the retention of settings applies to only certain functions (see p 165 of your manual) such as the specialist functions of the camera's buttons. Shutter speed and aperture functions are not retained, however I am reliably informed that our R&D department are addressing this issue after feedback from users and are planning to implement the update required soon. I do apologise for the inconvenience in the meantime.

drmarkf
18th March 2017, 10:07 PM
Fuji users drone on for hours about how responsive the manufacturer is to user input and how they extend the functionality of earlier bodies with FW updates, but Olympus nowadays excel in these regards.

(Don't ask about how responsive Sony are, by the way: their contributions consist solely of releasing useless apps in the app-alling and virtually unusable PlayMemories store... :rolleyes: )

pdk42
18th March 2017, 11:02 PM
(Don't ask about how responsive Sony are, by the way: their contributions consist solely of releasing useless apps in the app-alling and virtually unusable PlayMemories store... :rolleyes: )

When I had the A7Rii I was interested in an app from the Sony store that seemed to do what the Livetime function does on the Olympus cameras. I was amazed to discover that it only worked on the A7s. I did download (i.e. buy) one of the other apps but was very disappointed. Apps run as little standalone programs meaning that many of the usual functions of the camera no longer work. I quickly came to the view that it seems a nice concept but the implementation is pants.

On top of that, I suspect that my persona was stolen by Russian hackers from the PlayMemories store ;)