PDA

View Full Version : Remote shutter release.


blu-by-u
17th January 2017, 05:10 AM
What's the remote release cable model number for this new camera?
Olympus RM-UC1 is for the previous off the USB. It sure won't work on the EM1ii and there is no RM1/2 support either. I notice there is a covered port just under the shutter release, is that the remote release? If so, what's the model number of the release?

Admin, can remove..Found the remote release.. RM-CB2.

Beagletorque
17th January 2017, 07:34 AM
Apparently Canon do a nice one with the same connection for much less!

Grumpy Hec
17th January 2017, 10:55 AM
It is now the same as Canon C1, as opposed to canon C3, and so there is a large range of releases available at a variety of price points. I managed to get a new lead for my existing Hähnel wireless release.

cheers

Hec

ayewing
17th January 2017, 08:34 PM
Olympus seem to have reverted to an older standard for the shutter release. The port is now for a 2.5mm stereo type plug which was and is widely used by Canon, Pentax and other brands. I have found thet the wired and wireless releases I used with my Pentax K series DSLRs work fine with the new OM-D E-M1 mkII.

3863

Click on the thumbnail to enlarge.

alfbranch
17th January 2017, 08:39 PM
This review by AP says it uses Canon E3 type reomte or Pentax

http://www.amateurphotographer.co.uk/reviews/compactsystemcameras/olympus-om-d-e-m1-mark-ii-review/2

Wee man
18th January 2017, 12:02 AM
Can you not just use a tablet or phone

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

blu-by-u
18th January 2017, 03:29 AM
Sadly I don't think my android phone can multitask.:o

pdk42
18th January 2017, 05:42 AM
Why did they change it.....?b

Grumpy Hec
18th January 2017, 08:46 AM
This review by AP says it uses Canon E3 type reomte or Pentax

http://www.amateurphotographer.co.uk/reviews/compactsystemcameras/olympus-om-d-e-m1-mark-ii-review/2

I'm using a Canon C1 format and can state that it does work. Don't know about E3 but the C3 definitely does not fit as it isn't a 2.5mm format.

Hec

TonyR
18th January 2017, 10:55 AM
Canon RS-60E3 works fine and costs £15. Very nice and small.

wanderer
18th January 2017, 09:15 PM
At the demo I went to, I asked the question. The reply was download an app and all camera actions can be worked wirelessly from the phone including live view. Interestingly you still have to turn the camera on manually! Otherwise set the camera on delayed release.

Wee man
18th January 2017, 11:36 PM
I use my phone/ tablet very handy you get the viewfinder view on the phone / tablet screen. And with delay shots like light trails you can watch them build up from the warmth of you car!

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

blu-by-u
20th January 2017, 02:59 AM
Ordered the 2.5mm plug from ebay, going to hack an old RM-UC1.

idlefrog
28th January 2017, 10:17 AM
Interestingly you still have to turn the camera on manually!

It will always take a physical action to turn the camera on. If the camera was scanning for a wireless signal then it wouldn't actually be off and would be consuming power.

Think of your TV set, when in standby mode it is actually on in a low power mode but still consuming power waiting for the input from the remote control, but if you have switched it off it won't respond to the remote and you need to manually turn it on before it will respond to the remote.

sapper
28th January 2017, 12:33 PM
I got the cannon one, good quality and much cheaper.

kbouk
29th January 2017, 04:25 AM
I also bought a Canon RS-60E3 and costs 18€, OLYMPUS EM1.2's release shutter cable with 2.5Pin Jack is RM-CB2 and costs 65-80€ here in Greece.

https://www.olympus.co.uk/site/en/c/cameras_accessories/pen_om_d_cameras_accessories/pen_om_d_other_accessories/rm_cb2/index.html

blu-by-u
3rd March 2017, 06:28 AM
Many have in the past purchased the RM-UC1 to accompany our beloved olympus cameras. (I got a compatible):o
https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/675/32837530430_fe6da76d9b.jpg

The New OMD EM1ii have moved to a different socket. So being a miser,;) I decide to hack my old RM-UC1. If you do not have or own or have sold older models that uses the USB connector for remote,you can cut the USB connector totally off. But I kept mine as I still use the MK1.

Bought the 2.5mm stereo plug
https://c1.staticflickr.com/3/2847/32405579673_1ab7bcf17a.jpg

From about 100mm of the USB plug, Cut off about 20mm of the covering to expose the 3 wires inside.
https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3861/33063797302_508874ca19.jpg

Just to confirm the required positions of the 3 wires, I removed the back of the trigger to check the wires.
https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3701/32405556253_c092f99e06.jpg
Yellow being the common, White for focus and Red for shutter.
This may differ from different makers.

Then carefully remove about 5mm of the individual wiring insulation.
https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3725/33092414651_0cc5b23166.jpg

Carefully solder to the 2.5mm plug
https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3861/33178816186_b243b8f309.jpg

I use hot shrink to cover the plug ends.
https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3706/32376248834_6261f41776.jpg

The completed remote now looks like this
https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/669/33092532621_a46d170255.jpg

Hack is at your own risk.

Bikie John
3rd March 2017, 10:01 AM
Nice one!

John

drmarkf
26th March 2017, 10:16 AM
Cheapest I've found on the UK for the Canon RS-60E3 is Calumet, who sold me one at the Photo Show for 13 quid.

It's nice and small and the lip around the plug has a rubberised coating, which I suspect will provide some weather proofing as long as it's pushed fully home.

I do use the phone app as well, but having a physical button to press is a lot easier when it's freezing cold or pi$$ing down.

Beagletorque
26th March 2017, 12:17 PM
Genuine fake one on eBay for a tenner...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Genuine-Canon-RS-60E3-Remote-Switch-Shutter-Release-RS60E3-RS60-E3-A40A48/222431170285?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D2%2 6asc%3D40656%26meid%3Dd7c96c791eb34959b65021160160 87ed%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D1624 27311382

Growltiger
26th March 2017, 01:34 PM
All that work and you can simply buy one for £2.35 including postage.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Remote-Shutter-Release-Cable-for-Canon-EOS-1200D-750D-700D-760D-100D-60D-70D/251400398812

sapper
26th March 2017, 02:04 PM
Cheapest I've found on the UK for the Canon RS-60E3 is Calumet, who sold me one at the Photo Show for 13 quid.

It's nice and small and the lip around the plug has a rubberised coating, which I suspect will provide some weather proofing as long as it's pushed fully home.

I do use the phone app as well, but having a physical button to press is a lot easier when it's freezing cold or pi$$ing down.

Funny this. I have a Canon RS-60E3 and it don't fit the camera.

Growltiger
26th March 2017, 02:09 PM
Funny this. I have a Canon RS-60E3 and it don't fit the camera.
Buy a fake one then - they work fine!

drmarkf
26th March 2017, 02:16 PM
Funny this. I have a Canon RS-60E3 and it don't fit the camera.

Are you sure you're using the right socket, Dave? When I first tried mine I thought I'd ballsed up and got the wrong one, but then I realised it fits in the socket under the rubber cover beneath the shutter release on the right hand face of the body...
That has the great advantage of not being obstructed by a L-plate.

sapper
26th March 2017, 03:40 PM
Are you sure you're using the right socket, Dave? When I first tried mine I thought I'd ballsed up and got the wrong one, but then I realised it fits in the socket under the rubber cover beneath the shutter release on the right hand face of the body...
That has the great advantage of not being obstructed by a L-plate.

Ooops, wrong hole.

blu-by-u
27th March 2017, 01:37 AM
Buy a fake one then - they work fine!

Please don't call compatibles fake :eek: Unless they are printed with the brand and all but not.

Wreckdiver
27th March 2017, 09:05 AM
Please don't call compatibles fake :eek: Unless they are printed with the brand and all but not.

Absolutely.

Steve

RobEW
27th March 2017, 01:11 PM
At the demo I went to, I asked the question. The reply was download an app and all camera actions can be worked wirelessly from the phone including live view. Interestingly you still have to turn the camera on manually! Otherwise set the camera on delayed release.

If this means the Olympus OI Share app, then (unless I have an old version) it controls only a few of the main shooting parameters. It does offer live view though which can be nice. It doesn't offer control of the menu system. From memory it's just aperture, shutter mode and shutter speed, ISO, exposure compensation, selecting a focus point and triggering the shutter.

090657
27th March 2017, 09:50 PM
Great news that my Pentax K3 cable will be the only thing I keep when switching to the E-M1 mark 2.

mack100
31st March 2017, 06:23 AM
Ooops, wrong hole.
That's exactly what I did, I even bought a different cheapo brand of cable from Amazon.:confused: :D

blu-by-u
1st April 2017, 03:59 AM
That's exactly what I did, I even bought a different cheapo brand of cable from Amazon.:confused: :D

Just out of curiosity, :eek: which hole:confused::eek:

Grumpy Hec
1st April 2017, 06:36 AM
Ooops, wrong hole.

You're not alone Dave. A camera club friend of mine did the same and it was only when he bought it to the club one evening that we realised what the problem was.

The manual and general information on this from Olympus is poor so it's hardly surprising. I even emailed Oly to confirm it was a Canon C1 format and they just said to buy the expensive Oly cable release which I was not impressed with.

I'm sure there are and will be many more out there who fall into this trap.

Hec

mack100
1st April 2017, 07:03 AM
Just out of curiosity, :eek: which hole:confused::eek:
I wish you hadn't asked that question:o but I was trying to put the cable into the mic socket and the headphone socket.
I should have tried opening the remote cable terminal cover but that would have meant looking at the pictures in the manual.:D

sapper
1st April 2017, 07:16 AM
Yes Mack100, if I had looked at the picture I would not have given mine away to a c***n user and not have to wait for a delivery on another.

ayewing
1st April 2017, 10:18 AM
Like many others I have a hoard of old bits and pieces that "might come in useful sometime". I was finally justified in this when I found that my old Pentax wired and wireless shutter releases work very well with my OM-D E-M1MkII.

MJ224
14th November 2017, 03:01 PM
Ooops, wrong hole.

As the Actress said to the bishop............*chr*chr*chr*chr

blu-by-u
15th November 2017, 02:15 AM
Had a good laugh reading all those replies. LOL

Roy Mathers
16th November 2017, 08:39 PM
After reading all these posts, I just can't understand why people don't use the Olympus app as a remote control from a smart phone - and it's free!

drmarkf
16th November 2017, 09:31 PM
After reading all these posts, I just can't understand why people don't use the Olympus app as a remote control from a smart phone - and it's free!

It's OK, but in summary: it runs your phone battery down, it's not 100% reliable in connecting and maintaining a connection (in my experience, and it always fails just at the critical moment as the dawn light is perfect!), and it's much less easy to use in cold and wet conditions since you have to take your gloves off to use the phone screen (or, at least, take your fingers out of your mittens.

The Canon wired remote is worth getting to avoid these issues, at a very fair price IMHO.

stevewestern
17th June 2018, 07:02 AM
Reviving an old thread, but I'm going to need a wireless remote for an EM mk2 at some stage. Has anyone got one, and if so can you share a link please?
I'd be very happy with a cheap clone rather than an all singing one. All I need is shutter release. I know there is an app, but when I'm on holiday I refuse to take a phone with me..

blu-by-u
18th June 2018, 05:01 AM
Do you have any of the other Olympus camera? Do you have the wired remote for it?

IF not, then those that work on Canon should work. Think from the previous page, RS-60E should work. Not that Expensive from ebay.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1m-39-37-inch-long-Remote-Shutter-Release-Control-Cord-Wire-RS-60E3-for-Canon/292601863109?hash=item44206e1bc5:g:Ak4AAOSwwAdbIHE O

stevewestern
18th June 2018, 06:28 AM
Do you have any of the other Olympus camera? Do you have the wired remote for it?

IF not, then those that work on Canon should work. Think from the previous page, RS-60E should work. Not that Expensive from ebay.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1m-39-37-inch-long-Remote-Shutter-Release-Control-Cord-Wire-RS-60E3-for-Canon/292601863109?hash=item44206e1bc5:g:Ak4AAOSwwAdbIHE O
Thanks for the reply Henry, but it's a wireless one I'm after. The link is for a wired one....

CJJE
19th June 2018, 04:06 PM
I've been using the Hama DCCS release very successfully with my Lumix GX7 O-M1 and Pen F, but it didn't work with my new O-M1 MkII :( So I bought an official Olympus wired remote only to find out from this thread that all I needed was the Canon CA-1 connector lead for it!


Wex stock them here: https://www.wexphotovideo.com/hama-dccs-system-base-ir-remote-release-with-photoelectric-detector-1528773/

Alternatively Hahnel also make a similar release but with both Olympus connectors included.

Chris

blu-by-u
20th June 2018, 06:55 AM
Thanks for the reply Henry, but it's a wireless one I'm after. The link is for a wired one....

I have something similar to this which I hacked to work with the EM1mk2

https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/uzsAAOxyGStRvmp7/s-l1600.jpg

Same wiring as described in the 1st page.