PDA

View Full Version : Myset query


percy
10th January 2017, 09:24 AM
Hi all,

Not certain whether I've posted this in the correct section, but I have a query about saving custom settings.

On the E-M1 there was an option to save customised settings as Myset 1,2 etc. These could then be assigned to any of the function buttons.

On the Mk II the Myset options seem to have been replaced by C1,2,3 on the mode dial.

Does anyone know whether you can still save a custom set to a function button as before?

Bengeo
10th January 2017, 10:19 AM
Does anyone know whether you can still save a custom set to a function button as before?

Unfortunately you can't. Could be added in firmware if enough people ask for it?

percy
10th January 2017, 10:48 AM
That's a pity. Oh well, as you say maybe it will get reinstated in a future update.

Gwyver
10th January 2017, 05:21 PM
When I started using MySets on the E-M1 I thought that assigning a MySet to a button would be really useful.
I soon encountered what seemed to be a flaw in the implementation. Namely...
... If the camera goes into standby after you have pressed your 'MySet' button, this button press is forgotten when the camera re-activates.

I had configured a MySet for 'action' photography. However, if you press the button and then have to wait some time for the 'moment', it is irksome when that 'moment' occurs if the camera re-awakens ignoring the (previously selected) MySet mode.

Because of this I soon changed to just using the dial to select MySets (aka Custom Modes in the E-M1M2) and so I don't miss the lack of assignment to a button on the new camera.