PDA

View Full Version : Any experiences with emergency tyre repair kits?

Olybirder
1st November 2016, 11:10 AM
My other half has just bought a new Mazda 2 to replace her Mini Cooper. It seems to be a lovely little car and is very well equipped with one glaring omission. In common with many new cars Mazda has done away with the full size spare wheel and replaced it with an 'Emergency Flat Tyre Repair Kit' (a can of foam and an air pump.)

A space saver wheel kit is available but it costs around 400! The wheel well is not deep enough to take a full size spare. All my cars have had spare wheels and I have no experience of these kits but I have not heard many good things about them. As she often has to attend meetings in the evenings and spends a fair amount of time driving on her own, I am worried what will happen if she has a puncture. I assume she will have to call Mazda Assist and get them to take the car to a tyre repair shop or call out a mobile fitter at considerable expense. Her Mini had runflat tyres and, although they were extremely expensive and gave a hard ride, they did their job on the occasion when she had a puncture.

So, has anybody had personal experience of these repair kits and, if so, what happened when you had a puncture. Did it work? Could the tyre be repaired afterwards or was it a write off? If it didn't work how was the problem resolved.

Ron

drmarkf
1st November 2016, 11:16 AM
Interesting. All the cars we've owned to date have had spare fullsize or spacesaver spares or runflats, but that's certainly something to be aware of for the future.

Still, I haven't had a puncture myself for (digits crossed) around 20 years.

The last tyre I changed in anger was on my daughter's Yaris, which had a spacesaver.

sdb123
1st November 2016, 11:18 AM