PDA

View Full Version : Is it dust or something more sinister


scanny
14th January 2009, 06:39 PM
Hi all

I got my 510 in May and since then have 5000 or so shutter actuations. I noticed in may that there was what i thought was dust on the sencor, i gave it a blow and it happened again a few times then settled down until now. I was taking longish exposures last week in low light and in the same area the spots re-appeared. I had a look at the sencor and gacve it a blow but there is nothing on it that i can see, tryed another days shooting and it remained there.

Heres a sample, its above the treeline in the top left qaudrant

All help appretiated
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v249/scannee/P1056253.jpg

snaarman
14th January 2009, 06:44 PM
I notice this is at f22, a very small aperture... I wonder if it could just be some dust on the lens instead. I bet if you open up to f8 it will vanish...

Pete

StephenL
14th January 2009, 06:44 PM
Looks like dust to me. I regularly had (many) spots like that on my Canons. Did you put the camera into cleaning mode whilst you "gave it a blow"? You might have to resort to a manual clean, or take it for a professional job.
I presume it appears in the same place no matter what lens and whether its in portrait or landscape mode?

scanny
14th January 2009, 06:49 PM
It stays in the same place in all my pictures, i thought it was my montior at first but it is clean. My E1 has never had any problems with dust before or my old e400 or brothers e500. I set it to cleaning mode and took a look at the sencor, previously ive seen a fibre or bit of dust sitting on it and the puffer has lifted it but i can see anything now. Ill look into having it sent of for cleaning

Garrie
14th January 2009, 07:56 PM
I had the same thing with my E510 about 6 months ago (think mine was worse) It was dust and my mate sorted it with a rocket blower. I'll see if I can find some pics of it..

edit opps sorry It was hair I had on my sensor..

Ellie
15th January 2009, 10:31 PM
I managed to get some dust on mine last summer, because I'd forgotten to turn the camera off when I changed the lens. I ran it through a few on/off cycles and it cleared it.

I hope you fix yours as easily

scanny
16th January 2009, 12:53 AM
Thanks to all for the advice, ive gave it another shot with the blower and have turned it on and off a good few times, Ill have a play tomorrow and see it the menace is still about. Fingers crossed

Thanks again *chr

Wreckdiver
16th January 2009, 11:52 AM
I had exactly the same with my E-3 recently.

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/713/ST080084.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/11955)

On the above photo there is a dot like yours at the top right above the two green trees and an elongated one directly above the golden tree. The later one was a piece of cotton on the sensor and clearly visible when I raised the mirror. The dot at the top right corner was not visible but both cleared with a few blows from the puffer. A couple of days ago another spot appeared (photo below). Looking at the sensor again reveals nothing (I used a large illuminated magnifying bench lamp), so if it is dust causing the problem it is very small indeed.


http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/713/1095588.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/11957)

I want to take some more photos to replicate the problem before I attempt to blow the sensor clean again. I will comment here again when I have further info. I do think that dust is the problem though.

Steve