PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Off camera flash


greenguru
21st February 2016, 09:13 PM
What do you guys use for off camera flash solutions?

Wired with a cable? Wireless triggers?

I'm a little lost, if I am honest.

Price is (always) a consideration and so I am looking for a modest and ideally portable solution to help my hobby; some macro, some portraiture, some interesting and new angles to explore hopefully.

I currently have an EM1 and FL50.

Thanks,

Rob

Graham_of_Rainham
21st February 2016, 09:24 PM
Mostly use PiXeL Pawn wireless triggers:

Pixel TF-364 Pawn 3-in-1 Flash and Shutter Trigger for: Amazon.co.uk: Camera & Photo@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41MS2crFlAL.@@AMEPARAM@@41MS2crFlAL

However with FL50Rs there is the option of RC via flash from the control unit attached to the E-M1

Sometimes for macro and other such table top work a good old wire to the PC Skt works well.

Petrochemist
21st February 2016, 09:47 PM
With the right flash, I gather Olympus cameras can manage wireless TTL control.
Unfortunately not an option with my set-up, & the '4/3 TTL cable' I got is not working at all either :(
My budget flash works well directly on the camera, & all the wires in the cable conduct perfectly well, so I'm not sure what the issue with my cable is...

greenguru
22nd February 2016, 07:40 AM
Are there any advantages/disadvantages to using wireless triggers rather than a cable (even one that works, Mike!)?

sapper
22nd February 2016, 08:08 AM
Wireless triggers work best when you have to move around. i used them to shoot school productions. it meant I could wander around without being tethered to the studio flashes.

Graham_of_Rainham
22nd February 2016, 02:59 PM
The simple cable can be very long and just triggers the flash.

The full cable has all the connectors and provides Zoom, Pre-Flash, red-eye reduction, focus assist and TTL functions. But it's short and coiled so a bit restricting.

greenguru
22nd February 2016, 07:06 PM
Useful stuff.

Thanks, all.

shenstone
22nd February 2016, 07:49 PM
It is said that a Picture paints many words so...

IMO the only place for flash is off the camera even a few inches such as you get with a flashbar makes a lot of difference

I'm using wireless units when I want multiple off camera flash and need to move around a lot. My kit is cactus V2 trasmitters and receivers which are now so old I note they are not shown on their comparison page any more http://www.cactus-image.com/cactus_flash_trigger_comparison.html

The older ones were cheap, but I note the V6 is "professional prices", but a quick search shows the V4 are still around

http://www.e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/Dinas10.jpg

http://www.e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/Dinas07.jpg

My reason for wireless is I often want NO light from in front like in this

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/1887/breveritas14.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/88479)

Or I want to be able to reset things fast like these

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/1887/breveritas12.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/88477)

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/1887/breveritas13.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/88478)

Time is if the essence when people could be cold or tired

On the other hand these are taken with a curly cable because it's reliable and fast, I tend to hang a flashgun around my neck and tuck it in my caving suit when using it

http://www.e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/herald01.jpg

http://www.e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/shatter02.jpg

As has already been said there are times that any wireless type technology can let you down (I had 2 fail on me on my last caving trip and resorted to cable to make sure I got some shots). I like the flashbar when taking event type pictures and I use whatever I think is going to work best for the day - no perfect answer as usual - have fun trying it all

BTW - I would not advise purchasing any second hand flash equipment from me ever - it will have been thoroughly abused and very grubby

Regards
Andy

greenguru
22nd February 2016, 08:11 PM
Stunning shots. I was convinced wireless was the way to go and then I saw your cabled shots!

Imageryone
22nd February 2016, 11:24 PM
I use these most of the time, easy to carry, reliable and cheap https://www.jackthehat.co.uk/thumbs/300x300/images/user/17-290612142034.jpg :) remote flashes all bought from charityshops for pennies, just make sure the batteries have not been left in before you buy :)

Wreckdiver
22nd February 2016, 11:31 PM
I use 4 Pocket Wizard IIIs. 1 master and three on the strobes.

Steve

Harold Gough
25th February 2016, 06:20 PM
"Triggers" have only to fire a flash and can be simple and cheap.

If you want TTL metering you need the Olympus R series flash or similar.
On my EM-1 the basic setup for macro is an FL-LM2 on the hot shoe, with its flash turned off but controlling the other units. On an L-bracket I have either an FL-50R or an FL-36R. The fill comes from one or two FL-300Rs on other bracket, either on the lens barrel or free-standing.

Harold

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/ufiles/54/1193154.jpg

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/ufiles/50/1158550.jpg

davy59
26th February 2016, 12:13 PM
Hi Everyone,

Slightly off the subject! But still concerning flash, I recently attended a Studio workshop with my E-M1 but the remote trigger for the strobe lights refused to work. Have to say it could have been the firmware issue recently corrected? Would that have stopped it working?

Are there remote triggers out there that work with the E-M1? Or do you need to use the small flash that came with the E-M1 to fire the lights? Rather like the wireless trigger?

Olympus tech could not really help me or my tutor apart from saying you need to use the small flash on the E-M1 hot shoe to fire additional strobe lights off camera. But surely the light would affect the subject and ruin your set up?

Thanks in advance!

Harold Gough
26th February 2016, 01:01 PM
Olympus tech could not really help me or my tutor apart from saying you need to use the small flash on the E-M1 hot shoe to fire additional strobe lights off camera. But surely the light would affect the subject and ruin your set up?

I use mine with the trigger flash light turned off. I still switch the unit on by popping it up. It does emit a pre-flash for metering but does not contribute to illumination during exposure.

Harold

davy59
26th February 2016, 01:15 PM
Thanks! Now to find some lights!

Harold Gough
26th February 2016, 01:33 PM
Thanks! Now to find some lights!

The system flash (FL-R series) vary tremendously in size and weight from the tiny pop-up LM2, through the lightweight 300Rs, to the moderately large and heavy 36R to the huge and heavy 50R.

Weight is considerably influenced by the number of batteries: 4 AAs in the 50R and two AAs in the 36R, two AAAs in the 300R and none in the LM2. (I recommend Eneloop rechargeables).

Harold

Walti
20th July 2016, 02:56 PM
"Triggers" have only to fire a flash and can be simple and cheap.

If you want TTL metering you need the Olympus R series flash or similar.
On my EM-1 the basic setup for macro is an FL-LM2 on the hot shoe, with its flash turned off but controlling the other units. On an L-bracket I have either an FL-50R or an FL-36R. The fill comes from one or two FL-300Rs on other bracket, either on the lens barrel or free-standing.

Harold

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/ufiles/54/1193154.jpg

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/ufiles/50/1158550.jpg


Hi Harold...

Just taken the first steps towards building a macro flash rig, as I happened across a cheap second hand FL-600R as I walked past a shop...

Will be making brackets up as soon as some parts arrive!

Given it a very cursory try outside hand holding the camera (with 60mm Macro) and the flash in the other hand, it appears to work!

Can you give a bit of guidance on how you set it up?

I simply went for fill-in auto, manual focus, on-camera flash off...

Harold Gough
20th July 2016, 04:03 PM
Hi Harold...

Just taken the first steps towards building a macro flash rig, as I happened across a cheap second hand FL-600R as I walked past a shop...

Will be making brackets up as soon as some parts arrive!

Given it a very cursory try outside hand holding the camera (with 60mm Macro) and the flash in the other hand, it appears to work!

Can you give a bit of guidance on how you set it up?

I simply went for fill-in auto, manual focus, on-camera flash off...

I have noted your request. I found the manual very confusing so I will summarise my settings when I have worked through them. In the meantime, do you have a copy of the manual? You can download here:

http://www.olympusamerica.com/cpg_section/cpg_support_manuals.asp?id=1648

Make sure it is version 2.

We will be referencing page 135.

Harold

Walti
20th July 2016, 07:18 PM
I have noted your request.

We will be referencing page 135.

Harold

Page 135 open and awaiting your instruction!

Harold Gough
20th July 2016, 08:41 PM
OK. It is some time since I set the option in my EM-1 but I believe that you may have to do most, or everything all over for each camera mode e.g. for Manual, for Aperture Priority, etc. Once you have done, you may wish to allocate a Myset for each, so that you can Reset if you change anything and want to go back to it.

If you have Remote Control switched on you should permanently see RC (black) in a white square at the top of the screen. If not, go to the menus and choose shooting Mode 2, where you can switch it on.

Unless you have reassigned it, the Info button should alternately display the multi option menu or the flash menu. When the flash menu is displayed you can set it up.

Set all 4 lefthand options to TTL and all the middle ones to 0.0. Then set A to flash (not FP), B to LO and C to 1 (or any other number but we will work with 1 here).

Switch on your flash gun. (Based on FL 36R) Use the mode button to select C1C (with another C above, right). (That mode/display is for RC control). The dial can enter an exposure factor but I never use one. You may want to enter a zoom value. While holding the Mode button down, turn the dial to select A, B or C.

I think that should be it.

Be aware (my observation) that low batteries in the gun may first show as it not flashing in RC mode.

Harold

Walti
21st July 2016, 01:42 PM
OK. It is some time since I set the option in my EM-1 but I believe that you may have to do most, or everything all over for each camera mode e.g. for Manual, for Aperture Priority, etc. Once you have done, you may wish to allocate a Myset for each, so that you can Reset if you change anything and want to go back to it.

If you have Remote Control switched on you should permanently see RC (black) in a white square at the top of the screen. If not, go to the menus and choose shooting Mode 2, where you can switch it on.

Unless you have reassigned it, the Info button should alternately display the multi option menu or the flash menu. When the flash menu is displayed you can set it up.

Set all 4 lefthand options to TTL and all the middle ones to 0.0. Then set A to flash (not FP), B to LO and C to 1 (or any other number but we will work with 1 here).

Switch on your flash gun. (Based on FL 36R) Use the mode button to select C1C (with another C above, right). (That mode/display is for RC control). The dial can enter an exposure factor but I never use one. You may want to enter a zoom value. While holding the Mode button down, turn the dial to select A, B or C.

I think that should be it.

Be aware (my observation) that low batteries in the gun may first show as it not flashing in RC mode.

Harold

Harold,

Many thanks for the help! I was nearly there by guesswork!

Will be trying it out properly soon!

Harold Gough
21st July 2016, 02:40 PM
I was nearly there by guesswork!

The true path to operating Olympus hardware via the menu system! :D

You will need the camera and flash on for setting the channel.

Harold