PDA

View Full Version : Please help a newbie

phoebepants
20th December 2008, 11:48 PM
Hi

We are complete beginners at this and are looking to build up our kit as we only have the standard lens supplied with the e-410 so i would like to pick your brains!

what lens would you recommend? looking for something with a bit of zoom compared to the 17.5-45mm

Where is the best place to purchase and what kind of price range are we looking at?

are there any lenses at all other than the zuiko that will fit?

what basic equipment can you recommend that is reasonably priced in order for us to have a play with?

Sorry to bombard you with all these questions but we are complete beginners and really want to get into this hobby.

Thanks

Shell

skyman1
21st December 2008, 01:08 AM
There are some 4/3rds lenses made by Sigma and Panasonic available ,and some TTL flashes by Panasonic and Metz available
As for what lenses it is in my case a lot to do with your budget you have to look at what you have to spend and decide the lens you want ,the lens you want is as usual more than you have set your budget for :( at least that is the norm in my case although I have a Olympus digital 40-150mm Kit Zoom and find it quite good for a kit lens got mine for 95 some on Ebay new about 70-110 Hope that helps you

Zuiko
21st December 2008, 01:44 AM
I also endorse the 40-150mm. I have the older f3.5/f4.5 version and think it is a belter for the price - a real bargain! (there's one on ebay at the moment, latest bid 77 with 18 hours remaining).

It's if you want to go wider that it works out a bit expensive. If you want to go just a little wider the 14-42mm is very affordable and its got great close focusing abilities. 14mm compared to 17.5mm is actually a bigger difference in practice than it seems on paper! However, to go any wider will be rather expensive, especially if you look at Zuikos. Cheapest option would be the Sigma 10-20mm which I believe I've seen advertised new for around 300.