PDA

View Full Version : Safer Computing: 29/1/16


Wally
29th January 2016, 11:40 AM
B U L L E T I N (ID: HKRI-A6MEZV)

Earlier in January, Christopher Boyd, a malware intelligence analyst at Malwarebytes, came across a scam that informs a victim they have been locked out of their Facebook account as a result of other users' complaints.

The message urges the user to re-confirm their page by visiting a link modified by the LinkedIn URL Shortener, which is itself an unusual choice for Facebook scammers. Entering in their email, password, and birth date subsequently leads a user to another page, where they are prompted to enter in their card number, expiration date, security code, zip code, and country. Should they choose to pay via PayPal, a "Confirm PayPal" button leads to a phish for that service, as well.

In the time since he wrote his initial report, Boyd has detected several other Facebook Security scams that mimic the ruse described above. In fact, some of them have used the exact same alert message to warn users of locked accounts and the need for login details. If the scams are sent to you as a Facebook message or post, take a screenshot and report it to Facebook Security. If you know the Facebook user who sent it to you, you might also want to let your friend know that their account was likely hijacked.

More details and screenshots available at: → https://www.grahamcluley.com/2016/01/fake-facebook-security-page-scam/

DerekW
29th January 2016, 11:44 AM
This must be the only scam that may improve people's lives if if help them kick the FB obsession