PDA

View Full Version : New member introduction

Batman
22nd November 2008, 07:44 PM
Hi,

I'm fairly new to the Olympus E system, and very new and a bit uncomfortable with using a forum. I put this down largely to age! Please, therefore, make allowances for any 'cock-ups' that I make. Until this July, I hadn't used a SLR for probably about 20 years or more. That was a Canon AE1 that I bought when the children were young.

Over the years, my photography has been limited mainly to recording family events and travel. The children's activities and my other hobbies really prevented me from having enough time to take it seriously, even though I always had an interest. Having retired 4 years ago, my wife and I started to take a few holidays in Africa and this led to a new interest in photography, particularly wildlife photography. This was initially satisfied with a 'super-zoom' Sony DSC-H1, but I was a little frustrated by some limitations of that camera and decided to get a DSLR. As I wanted a camera that could travel easily, I was shown an E-510 by the friendly staff of our local LCE. When the E-520 arrived it was a natural choice.

Since July I have already started to get much more enjoyment from my photography. Sadly though, I suspect that I am already too old to improve to a good standard as a photographer. It is fun trying though!

When I work out how to, I will post a few photos from the last 4 months. Please be patient with me.

snaarman
22nd November 2008, 07:51 PM
Hi there, most welcome :-)

I did the switch from film to digits a while back. This followed a long period just using a point and shoot (called "P+S" hereabouts) camera.

It was only when my daughter did Photography GCSE a decade ago that I got back into my film and Nikon SLR ways.

I waited until I found a DSLR that was small enough to jam in a jacket pocket (the E400). I was so impressed by Olympus lenses that I settled with the brand and bought a E510 as well..