PDA

View Full Version : New to DSLR photography AND new to Olympus - The Double Whammy!

Naboo32
21st November 2008, 05:59 PM
Hello all!

Having recently decided to try and break out of the cycle of taking OK pictures at home with my Canon Ixus 75, but (mostly) terrible pictures outside with it :(, I started to research the world of DSLR cameras and found that a lot had changed since I last looked, 7 years ago :eek:.

Inspired by the many feature-packed, "all-in-one kits" on the market for less than 600, I started drawing up a shortlist. The leading contender was (not surprisingly, given all the hype around it ;)), the Canon E450D. Also in the running were the Olympus E420 and E520 kits.

All was going well with my patient Internet research, until a friend told me that our local electrical superstore (think, a "German Dixons") were having a special "one day only" promotion on their old (over)stock of E410's - they were selling the twin lens kit for 299 (about 240) :eek:. So, I queued up with all the other bargain hunters and went in to have a look at one. I was immediatley impressed by the solid feel (better than the flimsier and less scratch-resistant plastic of the Canon, I thought) and decided that I should get one. But, I was too late! They had all been snapped up within the first 15 minutes :(.