PDA

View Full Version : Noob from Northern Ireland!

madasadad
15th November 2008, 10:07 PM
Hi all, I've been a member for a few days or so but haven't had time to introduce myself, too busy looking through the forum. I attempted to enter the DOF competition, so I hope I managed to to it correctly. The forum is a wealth of information and experience and I intend to avail and contribute whatever I can. I saw the E510 twin lens kit on offer and having read nothing but glowing reviews, had to buy it. I've since bought a FL 36 flash and now I'm considering the 70-300 lens. I can see this hobby becoming a bit compulsive!
I'm a complete noob and look forward to soaking up your experience, like a sponge! I might even try a photo of one!

Ellie
15th November 2008, 10:37 PM
http://www.chins-n-quills.com/forums/images/smilies/hello3.gif

Hi, good to meet you :)

If you do buy the 70-300 I don't think you'll regret it, unless you've got enough money to buy one of the more expensive lenses. It's really good value, not too heavy and will go well with your E-510 too.

madasadad
15th November 2008, 10:47 PM
Thanks Ellie, I don't think that could justify anything more expensive, since i'm only aspiring to be an amateur! I would have an interest in macro/abstract work? What would be considered as a suitable amateur lens for this type of photography?

StephenL
16th November 2008, 07:35 AM
Hi and welcome! The 70-300 is a great lens. Just remember that 300mm is LONG in 4/3 terms, and don't rely on the IS totally!

Graham_of_Rainham
16th November 2008, 11:14 AM
Welcome to the friendy forum *yes

I use the 70-300 and find it to be better than I expected and very versatile

Have fun

*chr

theMusicMan
16th November 2008, 11:29 AM
Hi madasadad

Firstly, a huge welcome to e-group, we are a friendly bunch, hope you enjoy the site and look forward to seeing all your shots. Please do take advantage of the free gallery space you are allocated, we always love looking at shots.