PDA

View Full Version : FL50R and FL600R combine


rawclicks
26th December 2014, 08:36 AM
Hi All

I have FL50r and planning to buy FL600r has anyone used the combination and can we trigger both the flashes using the small pop up flash supplied with OMD-EM1 in RC mode ?

If not then do I have to use remote triggers to flash the units at same time ?

Cheers
Rahul

Daveart
26th December 2014, 11:01 AM
Hi Rahul, yes you can use both or any comparable remote flash, you can set both on the same channel, on individual channel, setting the strength individually, I think you can have up to 4 channels.


Dave

Ross the fiddler
26th December 2014, 11:48 AM
I would not use them on the same channel unless it is wholesale lighting you want, but using more than one flash it is usually for different effects (e.g. portrait with two contrasting side lighting & a third for hair highlights) & hence two separate channels with individual control would be the way to go for that situation. BTW, it would be similar to using an FL50R with an FL36R in power output (more or less).

rawclicks
26th December 2014, 12:12 PM
Hi Rahul, yes you can use both or any comparable remote flash, you can set both on the same channel, on individual channel, setting the strength individually, I think you can have up to 4 channels.


Dave

Hi Dave

Thanks a lot .

Cheers
Rahul

rawclicks
26th December 2014, 12:13 PM
I would not use them on the same channel unless it is wholesale lighting you want, but using more than one flash it is usually for different effects (e.g. portrait with two contrasting side lighting & a third for hair highlights) & hence two separate channels with individual control would be the way to go for that situation. BTW, it would be similar to using an FL50R with an FL36R in power output (more or less).

Hi Ross

Thanks ..I am planning to use FL50R as main light source and FL600R as slave or secondary light source to create some drama.

Cheers
Rahul

Mrs T
27th December 2014, 02:51 PM
I would not use them on the same channel unless it is wholesale lighting you want, but using more than one flash it is usually for different effects (e.g. portrait with two contrasting side lighting & a third for hair highlights) & hence two separate channels with individual control would be the way to go for that situation. BTW, it would be similar to using an FL50R with an FL36R in power output (more or less).

That's interesting. I was asking my Dad about using multiple flashes with different GNs on Christmas Day but he didn't seem sure. If I have an FL600R and an FL36R and understand what you're saying correctly, they'd both give a fairly equal output.

Amanda

Ross the fiddler
27th December 2014, 09:19 PM
That's interesting. I was asking my Dad about using multiple flashes with different GNs on Christmas Day but he didn't seem sure. If I have an FL600R and an FL36R and understand what you're saying correctly, they'd both give a fairly equal output.

Amanda

I think they do have a similar output (without quoting exact specs), but when you have 4 channels available, then why not separate them for individual control? But then, it depends on what you're trying to achieve I suppose.

Mrs T
28th December 2014, 08:26 PM
Thanks Ross. I'm starting to try and master the art of flash and I'm not sure what I want to do, other than produce some decent results!

Amanda

Ross the fiddler
29th December 2014, 12:18 AM
Thanks Ross. I'm starting to try and master the art of flash and I'm not sure what I want to do, other than produce some decent results!

Amanda

For doing portraits I would use one (FL50R) behind a white umbrella to one side & a plain one (FL36R) to the other side plus one (FL36R) overhead & a little behind with a snoot to highlight the hair etc., but there are many other reasons to be using RC mode with the flashes, it just depends how much effort you want to go to to get a photo. Myself, not a lot usually.

Mrs T
30th December 2014, 07:59 AM
Thanks Ross. Good advice, and yes it would be mainly for portraits.

Looks like I need to tell Mr T to add some items to the GAS list! ;)

Amanda

shenstone
30th December 2014, 09:58 AM
you certainly can combine different output flashes in the same picture/ This has an FL50 and 2 FL36's in it.

The key is to understand that the main factor is the flash to subject distance (what light lands on the intended target) and for that I tend to use whatever combination is working (I mean hasn't packed up by the time I take the pictures) given what I am doing I rarely turn the GN down on the guns, but just occasionally that's useful too

My fullset is

1 FL50
2 FL36's
1 FL20

Triggered by a Cactus wireless slave and using up to 4 receivers all set to the same channel I simply turn off what I'm not using in a specific shot

I hope that gives some confidence in using multiple it's not hard.

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/Dinas07.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/28460)

Mrs T
30th December 2014, 08:04 PM
Thanks, that's very useful.

Amanda

maccabeej
31st December 2014, 08:00 AM
This is an area I have recently been learning about. I hired an FL600R from Ian to do a couple of courses. The interface is relatively easy to manage but I came across an interesting quirk. In the gear section of the menu, under white balance I think, there is an option to control flash WB, my advice is turn it off and control it yourself from the main WB setting as it seems to fight anything you try to change.
If you decide to buy stands look at Cotswold Photo on EBay, good stuff and relatively cheap. Also if you want to try Dave's set up and need a snoot buy some sheets of black foam from Hobbycraft or similar and some of those elastic bands that girls use to hold their hair back, it works well enough and costs pennies.

Mrs T
31st December 2014, 06:58 PM
Thanks maccabeej, more good advice.

Harold Gough
25th July 2015, 08:37 PM
For what it is worth, I use a 50R and a 300R together as my standard macro kit.

Harold

Harold Gough
29th August 2015, 03:53 PM
For what it is worth, I use a 50R and a 300R together as my standard macro kit.

Harold

My ball and socket mount, which I usually use to angle the FL-50R on my L-bracket, is currently awaiting repair.

My macro subject was suitable for placing on a table to be photographed.

I quite often use an FL-300R free-standing, on the stand provided with it. Sometimes I use a second FL-300R freestanding on its original stand.

On this occasion I thought I would also use the FL-50R on a spare* FL-300R stand. It worked fine. The balance was a bit iffy, especially when I placed something under the stand to tilt the beam down slightly. Anyway I would use that again.

*I should emphasise that the stand I used for the FL-50R was not an original one but a third party one, sold for the FL-300R, the front legs extending about an inch further forwards.

All three were controlled by the FL-LM2, whose light did not contribute to the image.

Harold