PDA

View Full Version : No in camera panarama stitcher ?


justa1972
12th July 2014, 08:29 AM
A bit gutted to find that although the EM10 has a panarama mode it doesn't stitch it for you in camera :(

I thought I'd researched the EM10 well but this is something I really use in a camera.

What are the chances that Olympus will produce an update with this on ? I can't believe with all the different options it doesn't have this feature ?!

shotokan101
13th July 2014, 12:31 PM
I agree that it's a bit surprising and would be useful on occasion

Ross the fiddler
13th July 2014, 12:43 PM
A bit gutted to find that although the EM10 has a panarama mode it doesn't stitch it for you in camera :(

I thought I'd researched the EM10 well but this is something I really use in a camera.

What are the chances that Olympus will produce an update with this on ? I can't believe with all the different options it doesn't have this feature ?!

I think it is because a compact is using one known lens whereas the E-M10 being an interchangeable lens camera there are too many variables to do it consistent successfully in camera & hence is left for the computer software Olympus Viewer 3 to do it instead. None of the (Olympus) interchangeable lens camera models stitch it 'in camera'.

Greytop
13th July 2014, 12:44 PM
Microsoft ICE (http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/redmond/groups/ivm/ICE/) works well Justin.

An example 10 shot panorama with E-M5 from last summer.
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/P8201552_stitch.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/65271)

Graham_of_Rainham
13th July 2014, 01:33 PM
+1 for ICE I think it works better than Photoshop :eek:

Phill D
13th July 2014, 02:28 PM
Plus 2 for ICE from me. If I can use it then it must be easy to use too.

pdk42
13th July 2014, 02:33 PM
Microsoft ICE (http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/um/redmond/groups/ivm/ICE/) works well Justin.

An example 10 shot panorama with E-M5 from last summer.
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/P8201552_stitch.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/65271)

I took almost the same shot this morning! I'm in Porto right now.

StephenL
13th July 2014, 02:43 PM
However, ICE, good though it is, has one major drawback. It don't works on Macs!

shotokan101
13th July 2014, 02:45 PM
However, ICE, good though it is, has one major drawback. It don't works on Macs!

Worth a look maybe ?

http://hugin.sourceforge.net/

Jim

StephenL
13th July 2014, 03:03 PM
Worth a look maybe ?

http://hugin.sourceforge.net/

Jim
Tried it. Couln't get on with it. Happy enough with PS CC.

Greytop
13th July 2014, 03:08 PM
I took almost the same shot this morning! I'm in Porto right now.

Wow, hope you're enjoying it Paul we really liked the area, stayed just south of Ponte de Lima.

justa1972
13th July 2014, 04:27 PM
However, ICE, good though it is, has one major drawback. It don't works on Macs!

Yep I use a mac too so can't try ICE - I use PTGui Pro which is good and easy too use - only a couple of photos stitched on this one taken on my NEX 6 and stitched on PTGUI Pro

I've head Hugin is good - why couldn't you get on with it ?

https://farm3.staticflickr.com/2927/14621772916_aeaad7696f_k.jpg

snerkler
14th July 2014, 06:48 AM
I think it is because a compact is using one known lens whereas the E-M10 being an interchangeable lens camera there are too many variables to do it consistent successfully in camera & hence is left for the computer software Olympus Viewer 3 to do it instead. None of the (Olympus) interchangeable lens camera models stitch it 'in camera'.

Nothing to do with interchangeable lenses, my Sony A77ii has it. The GX7 also has it and nearly made me choose this over the EM10. Big omission from Olly imo :(

blu-by-u
14th July 2014, 06:53 AM
Maybe Oly is not willing to pay the price of the software. It would increase the camera's production cost.

I use Arcsoft Panorama maker. It came free with my Lumix camera.