PDA

View Full Version : Which Lens??

Thomas Westhead
19th May 2014, 03:32 PM
Hello all,

This coming Saturday I am attending The East Lancashire railway at Bury for the 1940s event, this is my first time at doing this kind of photography.

I will be mainly focusing on people in uniform and 1940s attire, my plan of attack using my E620 with grip and using aperture priority using f5.6 to f8 and using the built in flash set at fill in flash and multi-point metering.

I am at a loss as to which lens to use my ZD 14-54mm Mkii or the 50-200 SWD though I think the latter with the big hood may be a little overbearing to the attending crowd.

What would you guys use?? I would appreciate any thoughts and advice on this. :)

StephenL
19th May 2014, 04:43 PM
If t'were I, I would mainly use the 50-200 without the hood, so you can be more candid, and forget the flash as it's liable to lose you that natural feeling.

bilbo
19th May 2014, 05:07 PM
Hello all,

This coming Saturday I am attending The East Lancashire railway at Bury for the 1940s event, this is my first time at doing this kind of photography.

I will be mainly focusing on people in uniform and 1940s attire, my plan of attack using my E620 with grip and using aperture priority using f5.6 to f8 and using the built in flash set at fill in flash and multi-point metering.

I am at a loss as to which lens to use my ZD 14-54mm Mkii or the 50-200 SWD though I think the latter with the big hood may be a little overbearing to the attending crowd.