PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Flash recommendation for EM5

niranhopper
23rd April 2014, 09:42 AM
I have very little experience with working with flashes. Since i have been shooting with primes most of the time, i rarely needed a flash. However i find switching prime lenses an inconvenience sometimes and end up loosing caps and filters :(. Sometimes i am too lazy to switch that i end up not taking any pictures. I going to build a zoom setup and hence would need a good flash.

My experience in the past with the kit flash has been disappointing. I find the subject bright but the background dull. The image doesnt look very natural.

I only need flash during indoor functions when my subject is 2-5 meters away. Would a TTL flash like the Olympus FL36R solve my lighting problems and give better results? Should i invest in a more expensive flash? Also is there any third party flash which would offer better value for money?

Also at present I own an Olympus 14-42 lens. Would a flash upgrade be sufficient or should i upgrade to Olympus 12-40 for better results?

Thanks

Bikie John
23rd April 2014, 01:52 PM
I don't use flash much either so any advice is suspect, but....

With on-camera flash you will almost always get the subject brighter than the background, because it is closer. And if the flash is pointing directly at the subject the results can be pretty horrible, with flat light and if you are really lucky a big shadow on the wall behind. If there is a nice low white ceiling you can get better results by bouncing the flash off it. For this you will need to be able to move the head, which you can with the FL-36 (R or otherwise). But you lose a lot of light doing that so a more powerful unit might work better.