PDA

View Full Version : Advice on using the 60mm macro please...

brianvickers
17th April 2014, 09:28 PM
Just received this today...the manual isn't very explanatory....can anyone point me in the right direction....Im assuming I have to use manual focus in the 1:1 mode....but why are there the other switch positions?
and whats the best technique for using the macro mode? I'm completely new to macro. Any advice is welcome please, thanks in advance.

Bengeo
17th April 2014, 09:48 PM
The focus limiter switch does just that - so there are 3 positions: 1 for very close, 2 for very close to infinity and 3 for normal distance to infinity. Autofocus works in all of them but many users find it easiest to get initial focus with AF (using SAF + MF) and then just lean to and fro slightly to get sharpest focus.

It's a great lens, hope you enjoy using it.

Andy

brianvickers
17th April 2014, 09:59 PM
Thanks Andy, Hopefully I'll get out tomorrow and I'll post my results.

Olybirder
17th April 2014, 10:12 PM
Hi Brian. Yes, as explained earlier the switch limits the focusing range. The first position (0.4m - infinity) covers the entire range but it is rather slow getting from one extreme to the other. The second (0.19 - infinity) is good for general and portrait use. The third (0.19-0.14) is for macro. Turning the wheel to 1:1 takes you to true macro quickly (note that the wheel will spring back when you release it but will leave the lens set to 1:1.) However, if you then use autofocus, it will no longer be 1:1. That is where the rocking backwards and forwards comes in.

Good luck. You will enjoy using it.

Ron

brianvickers
18th April 2014, 08:21 AM
Brilliant, thanks Ron!

but what about dof....is there a range of f stops I should be using, do I need to keep below f8, is the diffraction issue the same in macro mode?

Imageryone
18th April 2014, 09:12 AM