PDA

View Full Version : E3 jpg's

Malcolm Cousins
25th September 2008, 10:01 PM
Does any one out there use jpg's straight out of the box?. Well I do. After a couple of years using Canon I had to use RAW all the time as the jpg's were awful. Not so with Olympus. These must be the best jpg's ever. I have tried to better them using lightroom and capture one but the in camera processing of the Olympus cameras always seems to beat them. I may be stirring up a hornets nest here but I have been using digital photography for many years now and I know what I like.
All the Best

MC

dennisg
25th September 2008, 11:08 PM
Although I do not own an E3 I do own an E520. And I agree that the JPEGS from Olympus are pretty hard to beat. When I compare them to the RAW files that I shoot, there is a little bit of a difference, but overall, they are comparable.

If the shot is taken where there are no major blowouts and the exposure is close, then the JPEGS do come through with flying colors. What's nice here, is that I use the Level and Curve adjustments and they do enhance the JPEG file. With so little time available these days, it's nice to know that you can get high quality shots from the JPEG format using an Olympus rig.

Dennis G*chr

photo_owl
25th September 2008, 11:28 PM
Does any one out there use jpg's straight out of the box?.

yes

wet in washington
26th September 2008, 01:13 AM
Malcolm, is that SHQ or HQ that you use?

Chillimonster
26th September 2008, 07:30 AM
If i'm shooting in the Gym, or at the side of a pool, i'll go for RAW + LSF Jpg's just to be safe, but if i'm out shooting for me i generally shoot LSF jpg's only.

The only exception to that is if i'm after a specific effect such as HDR or black and white. If i'm shooting B&W i shoot RAW + JPG as the JPG comes out in B&W to give me an idea of the final look of the shot, and the RAW is still colour meaning i can still tweak in lightroom.

But i agree that the Oly JPG's are very hard to beat.

Chris

Malcolm Cousins