PDA

View Full Version : Using OM T-series flash guns on E-cameras


JohnGG
25th September 2008, 06:49 PM
Does anyone have experience of using legacy OM T-series flash equipment on E-system cameras. I think it can be done as I'm sure I've seen a post somewhere on http://www.fourthirdsphoto.com/ but I'm not a member of that forum and now I can't find the thread :(

My main concern is whether the trigger voltage of a T32 or a T10 ringflash is compatible with an E-1 or an E-3. I don't want to fry my cameras :o

I would be grateful if anyone who has tried using OM flashguns could give me some advice :)

Cheers,

JohnGG

mike_j
25th September 2008, 08:19 PM
I often use a T20 on my E510 - in fact I use two as a macro twin light. I checked the pin voltage and I seem to remember it was about 5 volts though don't hold me to that.

The T20 works fine and is a nice compact little unit. Obviously it doesn't have full automatics but it's easy enough to take a couple of test shots to establish exposure.

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/macro_rack.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/4246)

JohnGG
25th September 2008, 10:47 PM
I often use a T20 on my E510 - in fact I use two as a macro twin light. I checked the pin voltage and I seem to remember it was about 5 volts though don't hold me to that.

The T20 works fine and is a nice compact little unit. Obviously it doesn't have full automatics but it's easy enough to take a couple of test shots to establish exposure.

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/macro_rack.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/4246)

Thank you, Mike, for the information and the interesting picture of your kit (that focussing rail looks versatile) :)

Now that I know it works for you I will have a go at the weekend, trying a single T20 first to see what happens and then two. If all goes well I'll give the T10 ringflash a try as well.

Cheers,

JohnGG

HughofBardfield
26th September 2008, 11:57 AM
There's a comprehensive guide to flash trigger voltages here: http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html

I think previous posts on numerous forums have concluded that the T-series flashes are safe on Exxx cameras. I seem to recall that the "safe" voltage for the Ex cameras is even higher. Perhaps not high enough for an old Sunpak 283's 600V however! :)

mike_j
26th September 2008, 12:13 PM
It does pay to check with older flashes. When I was building my twin flash I thought of using two A11 flashes from XA series cameras and found the terminal voltage was around 100V.

It's not just the voltage though on old flashes. I see in my Leica M book (Osterloh - Advanced Photo School) that some old flashes have direct triggering with up to 20A current, this is why Leica used such heavy duty contacts on earlier cameras.

I wouldn't worry too much about this, though I did put a diode in the line from each of the flashes in my twin unit, mainly to give a degree of isolation between the circuits but also to act as a fuse if currents were higher than a few mA. In the event there hhas been no trouble whatsoever.