PDA

View Full Version : The baker

shirley
20th September 2008, 08:46 PM
This was taken today at Redbournebury Mill bakery.
The bakery is a small converted outbuilding on the same site as the mill and they use flour that has been ground there.
The bakers were very friendly and let me take some pics.
I will upload some more when I have time. Unfortunately the mill was not open today but I will be back when it is.
I tried this as a mono - I have little experience of mono so do people think this works?

Thank you for lookinghttp://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/The_baker_low_res.jpg

I think it looks a bit posed even though it wasnt.

shirley
21st September 2008, 04:33 PM
I guess from the lack of response that this is perhaps one for the bin, certainly in mono.*yes

StephenL
21st September 2008, 05:21 PM
Honest answers? I don't like the expression on the bakers face - it doesn't suggest someone working, just someone chatting. The machinery is too modern after eading your narrative - I would like to have seen something more traditional, such as hand-neading flour. However, I do think you were right to convert to mono, as industrial scenes in general seem to suit this medium.

shirley
21st September 2008, 05:28 PM
:D
You are absulotely right Stephen. There were two bakers and they were chatting and joking the whole time. Yes its an old buidling with a modern bakery inside, I understand your point, its something I hadnt considered before.
Thank you for taking the time to reply.
Shirley

theMusicMan
21st September 2008, 07:22 PM
Hi Shirley - apologies for missing this one and not replying sooner.

Whilst I personally can see merit in the image, it doesn't do that much for me. The square and straight-on to the oven angle of shot is not particularly interesting, and as has already been mentioned, the bakers expression is somewhat out of context of the image... if you know what I mean.

I hope you don't mind my comments by the way.