PDA

View Full Version : Digital converter.


sapper
16th September 2013, 01:22 PM
At the last Olympus event at White space last week, someone, Andy I think, mentioned the digital converter on the E-5.
It was news to me, so I checked it out in my garden today. Here are four shots taken with my EM-5 using my Olympus 14-150mm @ 150, just two apertures used, f5.6 and f8. iso 200, shutter speed 1/1000 or 1/2000, camera on tripod, cable release used. Thge crops are to give roughly same field of view as the digital converter. JPEG's straight out of camera.

First one is a cropped image at f5.6.
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/cropped_f5_6.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/65724)

This is using the digital converter @ f5.6
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/digi_con_f5_6_2000_sec_200_iso_150mm_.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/65726)

Next, cropped @ f8
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/cropped_f8_100_sec.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/65725)

And finally digital converter @ f8
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/digi_con_f8_100_sec.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/65727)

I think the digital converter gives slightly better results than the cropped images, which are good in my view.

David Morison
16th September 2013, 03:50 PM
The DTC in the EM5 is only applied to a jpeg and I have noticed that it gives slightly more detail than a cropped unconverted jpeg. However this is obviously due to some extra processing that's going. I haven't had time up to now to investigate how it compares to a RAW file with optimum PP, might get around to it soon.

David

sapper
16th September 2013, 04:06 PM
Yes, true, but I must say that for most of my pics, JPEG's are probably good enough. I usually shoot RAW + JPEG but think in future I will only do that in difficult lighting conditions.

benvendetta
16th September 2013, 06:46 PM
It's a pity the DTC doesn't work with raw files as well.

pdk42
16th September 2013, 11:04 PM
It's a pity the DTC doesn't work with raw files as well.

It sort of does doesn't it? You just crop in PP!

Ross the fiddler
17th September 2013, 12:45 AM
The DTC in the EM5 is only applied to a jpeg and I have noticed that it gives slightly more detail than a cropped unconverted jpeg. However this is obviously due to some extra processing that's going. I haven't had time up to now to investigate how it compares to a RAW file with optimum PP, might get around to it soon.

David
Part of the processing includes a smooth up-sizing to match the normal size jpeg output.

Yes, true, but I must say that for most of my pics, JPEG's are probably good enough. I usually shoot RAW + JPEG but think in future I will only do that in difficult lighting conditions.

Same here as I always save both & only revert to the RAW when I think I need to.

Ross the fiddler
17th September 2013, 12:48 AM
It's a pity the DTC doesn't work with raw files as well.

It sort of does doesn't it? You just crop in PP!

I thought that before too, but no, the DTC does a nice clean up-sizing of the crop which turns out better than doing an up-sized crop of the RAW in Olympus Viewer 3 but I haven't really tried other programs to see how well they can do it.

I tried it by saving an image taken with the DTC in JPEG & RAW, cropped & up-sized the RAW (into jpeg) to match the original JPEG & you can see the difference if you zoom in with your photo viewer.

OM USer
17th September 2013, 11:17 AM
Since they have written the code to do the upsizing in the camere you would have thought they could have put it into Oly Viewer 2 and 3. All the other transformations are there.