PDA

View Full Version : EPL5 focus set up question


deckitout
5th August 2013, 08:18 PM
I have been playing around with my newly acquired EPL5 and cannot quite work out a setting I would like to apply.


I would like to have a dedicated button for focus, could this be either the record or AF/AEL, with the shutter button set to just exposure.


Any help appreciated here if it is possible

Thanks Phil

Graham_of_Rainham
5th August 2013, 10:30 PM
Unless you have a very specific reason/technique for wanting this, I would suggest practising the half press - full press to get the feel of this mastered.

I have built a DiY grip for the E-PL5 that has one button for focus and another for shutter, that I use for very specialised techniques.

http://fourthirds-user.com/galleries/data/500/Winder_to_Grip.jpg

deckitout
5th August 2013, 11:36 PM
Thanks for the feedback Graham.

I am more than happy using the half press full press method, however I am wanting to explore prefocussing on specific areas using a separate button. My D700 was able to offer this option

What I have set up at presenton the EPL5 is the record button set to manual focus so I can prefocus with a half press, go into manual mode then fire away without refocussing everytime

Phil

Ross the fiddler
6th August 2013, 11:45 AM
I have my E-M5 set up with the Rec button to select MF (& toggle back to S-AF or what ever setting I was using) & MF option set in the Menu to Mode 3 (see page 79 in your manual). I also have the Fn (function) button programmed for AEL/AFL (page 79 - 80). When in MF you can then use the Fn button to gain an AF lock & releasing it returns to MF having locked your focus point. Pressing the shutter button half way only locks AE (AEL with MF in Mode 3) & fully pressing takes the exposure. The above method is often referred to as "back button focussing". You should be able to do this on your E-PL5 too.

*chr

deckitout
6th August 2013, 09:22 PM
Thanks for this Ross, I will try this out

Phil

I have my E-M5 set up with the Rec button to select MF (& toggle back to S-AF or what ever setting I was using) & MF option set in the Menu to Mode 3 (see page 79 in your manual). I also have the Fn (function) button programmed for AEL/AFL (page 79 - 80). When in MF you can then use the Fn button to gain an AF lock & releasing it returns to MF having locked your focus point. Pressing the shutter button half way only locks AE (AEL with MF in Mode 3) & fully pressing takes the exposure. The above method is often referred to as "back button focussing". You should be able to do this on your E-PL5 too.

*chr

Ross the fiddler
6th August 2013, 10:31 PM
Unless you have a very specific reason/technique for wanting this, I would suggest practising the half press - full press to get the feel of this mastered.

I have built a DiY grip for the E-PL5 that has one button for focus and another for shutter, that I use for very specialised techniques.



That's an impressive grip Graham! *yes

Graham_of_Rainham
6th August 2013, 10:59 PM
That's an impressive grip Graham! *yes

You may recognize that it's made from an OM Winder 2 :cool:

cariadus
6th August 2013, 11:11 PM
I have my E-M5 set up with the Rec button to select MF (& toggle back to S-AF or what ever setting I was using) & MF option set in the Menu to Mode 3 (see page 79 in your manual). I also have the Fn (function) button programmed for AEL/AFL (page 79 - 80). When in MF you can then use the Fn button to gain an AF lock & releasing it returns to MF having locked your focus point. Pressing the shutter button half way only locks AE (AEL with MF in Mode 3) & fully pressing takes the exposure. The above method is often referred to as "back button focussing". You should be able to do this on your E-PL5 too.

I have my E-M5 set up that way too. It would be interesting to know if it would also be possible on the E-PL5.

Ross the fiddler
7th August 2013, 01:29 AM
I have my E-M5 set up that way too. It would be interesting to know if it would also be possible on the E-PL5.

With a glance at the E-PL5 manual, I'm pretty sure it can (I think). ;)

cariadus
7th August 2013, 07:45 AM
With a glance at the E-PL5 manual, I'm pretty sure it can (I think). ;)

OK, thanks for that.