PDA

View Full Version : Red Bull Soapbox Race

Yat
15th July 2013, 10:26 PM
I spent a great day at Alexandra Palace in London watching soap box racing. There were a lot of crashes until they change the course to reduce accident. The final ramp was turned 180° to reduce the jump angle.

I shot all images using Olympus E-PM2 with 40-150mm IIR lens in C-AF+TR focus mode. I was very surprised to find most of the images were in focus as long as I had the target locked before I started shooting. It did track the moving soap boxes very well. They were traveling at about 30mph by the time they got the the bottom where I was and they were coming at me fast.

Since I took a lot of photos, I decided to make it into a time lapse was the best way to share. The HDR look was done in youtube.

Redbull Soapbox Race London 2013 - YouTube

Falk
16th July 2013, 07:38 AM
That looks like great fun and I've spotted some intersting designs too :)
Not a bad idea with the slide show presentation, but - at least for me, the delay between frames could have been twice or three times as long. Sure, I can stop the video in places but, if seen in one go I find it a little to speedy. Thanks for sharing *chr
Falk

Falk
16th July 2013, 08:12 AM
I need to come right back here, as I just did a 'work around' and downloaded your vid and then watched it at 1/10th speed with VLC-player. Brilliant!!! What a show! You had the perfect location for that deadly ramp :D That thing must have been sponsored by the "Dentists Association"!? Does make a great compilation for teaching children something about physics and inertia too.
I feel a bit guilty though, that I had to laugh so hard sometimes :eek: *super *whack *yes

Yat
16th July 2013, 09:56 AM
Thanks for your feedback. I will edit the vid tonight to increase the duration of each photo.