PDA

View Full Version : A ship

giorgosmit
10th August 2008, 05:30 PM
Hi there! My first post in this board- feel free to rip me apart!
This was taken today during an excursion in the small port city of Nafplio.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3053/2750405070_5b2026d893_o.jpg

CaptainD
10th August 2008, 06:00 PM
What a great subject, my only worry is just why is vessel sitting so high on the water?

Just a suggestion, perhaps try cropping the picture a touch to remove the object on the right. But remember, I am no expert!

Keep posting your pictures, its so nice to see everyones work.

Cheers

Chris *chr

Graham_of_Rainham
10th August 2008, 07:38 PM
First of all, well done for submitting to this part of the forum.

Almost all my comments are about crops & distractions so straight away I shall follow suit and suggest you crop off the RHS to get rid of the front of the truck (or whatever it is). Next crop a tiny bit off the bottom to get rid of the tops of the bars and a little of the LHS to re-balance the image.

When I say crop you may want to try stretching to get the same result, provided the subject proportions remain ok.

When ever you shoot head on to a subject like you have here, always make sure that you are spot on the middle and both sides are the same width in the frame, so here a small step to the left would have helped. I'm tempted to say that a step closer would have helped but that may also have resulted in a splash:eek:

This is clearly a BIG ship so you have done well to present it with "towering proportions", I like that it gives the feeling of a massive solid structure.

Shooting a dark object against the sky like this is also difficult to get right and you have done a really good job on getting the exposure right, with only the slightest loss of detail in the darkest of shadow areas on the lower RHS (the crop will help with that)

It is nice and sharp and overall well produced.