PDA

View Full Version : Any suggestions for remote cable release for E-3...?


theMusicMan
26th July 2008, 04:17 PM
Hi All

Just thought I should ask here first before I venture to eBay et al. Does anyone have experience of purchasing a cable/remote release for their Oly camera? I want to get one as I am about to venture into some digiscoping and probably best use a cable release for these shots.

Has anyone on here bought one from a UK supplier...? Any recommendations...?

Ta

peak4
26th July 2008, 06:32 PM
John, there seems to be a bit of an issue with the non-genuine ones on the e-3.
It's worth reading this post
http://forum.fourthirdsphoto.com/showthread.php?p=271214#poststop
It seems that the camera pins are too tight a fit in the cable release plug which leads to the pin block being pushed into the camera body.
Further threads on that forum seemes to indicate that Oly's repair is to re-fix the pin's mounting block into the camera body with superglue as the original fitment relied on friction.
I can also suck air through the camera socket although I've never used a remote release on it, leading me to suspect that it's only weatherproof with the little screw on cover in place.
The little cover on mine fell off the first time I used the camera after it's first viewfinder repair, so I guess they didn't re-fit it properly at the service centre. I added a note asking for a replacement when I sent it in for service this time, so hopefullt someone will act on it.

Paulpp
26th July 2008, 09:23 PM
Just to add I had exactly this problem with a third party make. Camera had to go back to Olympus for repair. Haven't tried the Olympus one as yet but presume it should be ok.

CaptainD
26th July 2008, 09:45 PM
I use the Olympus RM-CB1 with my E-3 and have found it to be excellent, I also have a early version of a RM-CB1 copy which also is very good which always gets thrown into my rucksack. This early version has a black screw locking ring rather than the silver ones that I have seen on forums that have been giving owners trouble.

There also appears to be two types of these RM-CB1 copies here a couple of Ebay links to show them;

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/3M-Remote-Switch-for-Olympus-C2500L-C8080WZ-E1-RM-CB1_W0QQitemZ310066876965QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/5M-Remote-release-for-Olympus-E3-E1-E20-E300-RM-CB1_W0QQitemZ110260913057QQcmdZViewItem

You will notice that both appear to have the silver ring on the camera connector.

I honestly think while they may appear a tempting cheap option, the risk of damaging your prcious E-3 is not worth it. If I were you take, your time and you will come accross a bargin genuine Olympus RM-CB1. I got mine from another Olympus forum, I also got lucky getting a RM-UC1 this way.

Just my opinion John

Cheers

Chris *chr

fulhamphil
27th July 2008, 06:19 AM
Hi I've just ordered a genuine olympus RM-CB1 from Kerso for 39 + 3pp, should be with me sometime this week.

CaptainD
20th October 2008, 04:02 PM
Dear John,

Did you ever have any luck getting a RM-CB1 for your E-3? I spotted this on on the FTU for sale forum :

http://www.fourthirds-user.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2770

Cheers

Chris

shirley
20th October 2008, 04:55 PM
Apologies for muscling in on this thread but does anybody know if there is a cable remote which can be used on an E510? I have a remote but I need to be in front of the camera for it to work. Thank you

DekHog
20th October 2008, 05:10 PM
Shirley....

I got one of these (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Remote-cable-release-fits-Olympus-E410-E510-E420-RM-UC1_W0QQitemZ180296537665QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item1 80296537665&_trkparms=72%3A1301|39%3A1|66%3A2|65%3A12|240%3A13 18&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14) from eBay and it works fine...

There are plenty others (http://shop.ebay.co.uk/items/?_nkw=E-510+remote&_sacat=0&_fromfsb=&_trksid=m270.l1313&_odkw=E-510+cable&_osacat=0) as well though, and even one (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/UK-Remote-Shutter-Switch-FOR-Olympus-E510-E410-RM-UC1_W0QQitemZ370091522556QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item3 70091522556&_trkparms=72%3A1301|39%3A1|66%3A2|65%3A12|240%3A13 18&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14) in the UK for a change!

theMusicMan
21st October 2008, 02:42 PM
Shirley....

I got one of these (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Remote-cable-release-fits-Olympus-E410-E510-E420-RM-UC1_W0QQitemZ180296537665QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item1 80296537665&_trkparms=72%3A1301%7C39%3A1%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C 240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14) from eBay and it works fine...

There are plenty others (http://shop.ebay.co.uk/items/?_nkw=E-510+remote&_sacat=0&_fromfsb=&_trksid=m270.l1313&_odkw=E-510+cable&_osacat=0) as well though, and even one (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/UK-Remote-Shutter-Switch-FOR-Olympus-E510-E410-RM-UC1_W0QQitemZ370091522556QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item3 70091522556&_trkparms=72%3A1301%7C39%3A1%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C 240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14) in the UK for a change!
Will the one available in the UK work with the E-3 do you know...?

DekHog
21st October 2008, 02:50 PM
Will the one available in the UK work with the E-3 do you know...?

No, different connection on the E-3, I believe, but I'm sure someone will confirm that for me...

I got one of these (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&item=250306644640) for the E-1, which should also fit the E-3 - none on eBay the moment, but you could have a look in the sellers shop.

benvendetta
21st October 2008, 03:25 PM
Considering all the bad reports that there have been on the Far East versions, I would stick with the real thing. Why scrimp on something for about 15 when you are using it on a grands worth of Olympus camera body?
I am amazed that Olympus would even consider a repair caused by a non-OEM part.
I picked up a 'proper' one on EBay a couple of months back for about 23. I haven't used it much as I really prefer the IR remote I also got on EBay although of course it has its limitations. Won't be selling it though!

Dave

theMusicMan
21st October 2008, 04:01 PM
I agree to be honest and am looking for an IR remote trigger now rather than a cable one.

DekHog
21st October 2008, 04:15 PM
I agree to be honest and am looking for an IR remote trigger now rather than a cable one.

Plenty of those for the E-3 on eBay... does the E-3 have a rear as well as front IR sensor?

theMusicMan
21st October 2008, 04:47 PM
Plenty of those for the E-3 on eBay... does the E-3 have a rear as well as front IR sensor?
Where...? I must be missing something?*yes

DekHog
21st October 2008, 05:05 PM
If it's just a standard IR remote, I'm sure you'll get one out of this (http://shop.ebay.co.uk/?_from=R40&_trksid=m38.l1313&_nkw=E-3+remote) list...