PDA

View Full Version : Whitstable beach

shirley
10th July 2008, 08:02 PM
I would really like some honest feedback on this.

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/medium/Beach-and-groins.jpg

Thank you for looking
Shirley

bully74uk
10th July 2008, 11:18 PM
Im afraid I can only offer you "novice" feedback as I am quite new to photography so please accept my comments for what they are worth.

I like the shot and am drawn to the pebbles, I also like the calmness of the sea.

I like the composition.

The only part of this picture that doesn't catch my eye is the sky but I suppose there is not much you could do about that.

If it were me that pressed the shutter I would have been quite happy with it.

JohnGG
10th July 2008, 11:34 PM
I think this is very good, both in the composition and in the muted tones which suit the empty, almost desolate, subject matter. I think the sky being flat actually adds to the shot, a dramatic one would have lost the character I've alluded to above. The only thing I might change would be to crop slightly from the right to remove some of the shoreline where it becomes a bit untidy.

I like it *yes

Cheers,

JohnGG

Nick Temple-Fry
10th July 2008, 11:51 PM
Shirley

You've asked for comments/criticism so here goes.

1) I think technically it is a great image

2) I really can't work out why I'm looking at it.

That shot, with a big wide open sky, would have been the sea/coast for me, a big chunk of heavy sky and the leaden water beneath. The corner of pebbles/groin providing the relief/context.

A crashing wave against the groin, whilst hackneyed, would have given it drama/purpose.

A lolly paper caught on the stones, or a teddy bear washed up at the tideline.

Sorry, all this may be 'harsh' by e-group standards, but I'm not sure what you took this photograph to 'show'. So I look at it and think, this is technically great but..

(Oh - and I should add it is probably way better than I would have shot)

Nick

shirley
11th July 2008, 06:51 AM