PDA

View Full Version : Panny 12-35mm f2.8 vs PanLeica 14-50mm f2.8-3.5

s4ean
1st October 2012, 10:43 PM
So as I go back and forth with this dilemma of whether or not to change systems, an interesting question came to mind. How does the 12-35mm compare to the original 14-50mm four thirds mount? My biggest issues with the E-M5 have always been size (paired with the 35-100mm f2, etc), and autofocus. The GH3 may very well have eliminated the size issue and may prove to be on par with the E-M5 in terms of image quality. However, the fact that it lacks in body stabilization has me thinking about my 14-50mm.

With regards to autofocus, I'm primarily a portrait photographer and think I could get away with it for a while, except for the rare wedding/event or when shooting sports. So the questions here are, how do the two compare in terms sharpness, bokeh, effectiveness of the IS systems, and the way the two render images in general. How much suffering can I look forward to focusing with the 14-50mm? Stands to reason I could save a good deal if I can live with it rather than purchasing the 12-35mm... I figured with them both coming from Panny (one bearing the Leica name), there might be a good comparison here.

Anyone happen to have experience with the two?

Howi
2nd October 2012, 10:36 AM
So as I go back and forth with this dilemma of whether or not to change systems, an interesting question came to mind. How does the 12-35mm compare to the original 14-50mm four thirds mount? My biggest issues with the E-M5 have always been size (paired with the 35-100mm f2, etc), and autofocus. The GH3 may very well have eliminated the size issue and may prove to be on par with the E-M5 in terms of image quality. However, the fact that it lacks in body stabilization has me thinking about my 14-50mm.