PDA

View Full Version : Stupid question number 3! Super Control Panel not reacting to touch?


wellyboot
5th September 2012, 03:28 PM
I haven't asked anything for a while now but I'm back and here is another for you......
I resolved the issue of the missing Super Control Panel, but now it doesn't seem to react to touch???
When in playback mode, the screen reacts to touch perfectly, scrolling through, zooming in etc. but I can't access anything via the Super Control Panel.
I have slowly been working my way through the manual, and changing various things, and I can only assume I have changed a setting that prevents the SCP from being touch sensitive.
I would be grateful for someone's words of wisdom please, and thank goodness for this forum

snaarman
5th September 2012, 03:40 PM
I will look like a fool, but is the SCP touch sensitive ever??

Pete

StephenL
5th September 2012, 03:52 PM
I will look like a fool, but is the SCP touch sensitive ever??

Pete

Put your hat on, Pete! I have had the SCP touch-sensitive, but not for a long while! I can't remember how I achieved it, or how it got switched off though.

wellyboot
5th September 2012, 03:52 PM
Ahhhhh!!!!
I sorted it by myself (only by accident though, I wasn't being clever!)!
You have to hit the OK button, and then it becomes active.
I feel a bit (well a lot!) of an idiot now!!

StephenL
5th September 2012, 03:57 PM
Yes, page 28 details this.

wellyboot
5th September 2012, 03:58 PM
Thanks Stephen!

snaarman
5th September 2012, 04:06 PM
Oo-er. So it does everything then :)

Wee man
5th September 2012, 04:36 PM
what a manual page 28 tells you wellyboot is an idiot?

StephenL
5th September 2012, 04:59 PM
what a manual page 28 tells you wellyboot is an idiot?

No, well, no, err, no, just that I found the answer the same time as Wellyboot :D

wellyboot
5th September 2012, 05:28 PM
what a manual page 28 tells you wellyboot is an idiot?

I wouldn't be at all surprised actually!! :D

OM USer
5th September 2012, 06:28 PM
Page 28 of the Basic Manual is in german.
Page 28 in Instruction Manual is all about Playback Mode.
Am I missing a manual? or my marbles?

StephenL
5th September 2012, 06:44 PM
Page 28 of the Basic Manual is in german.
Page 28 in Instruction Manual is all about Playback Mode.
Am I missing a manual? or my marbles?
The last item on page 28 of the PDF manual, English version, is the first item about adjusting settings. :)

OM USer
5th September 2012, 08:50 PM
The last item on page 28 of the PDF manual, English version, is the first item about adjusting settings. :)

Ah.... good to know it was me then. I'll put my glasses on next time.

Ross the fiddler
6th September 2012, 12:57 AM
I will look like a fool, but is the SCP touch sensitive ever??

Pete

Yes!

Put your hat on, Pete! I have had the SCP touch-sensitive, but not for a long while! I can't remember how I achieved it, or how it got switched off though.

I've only recently discovered the extra functions available from the [INFO] key (not the usual ones). I have the 4 way arrow keys assigned to direct functions & the left arrow key (<( selects the AF standard area position & when in that mode, I eventually noticed the symbol down in the left hand corner which is [* INFO] & on pressing the [INFO] key it then shows (in the bottom left hand corner) that the ^ up & v down keys changes the number of AF squares (around the selected one) from one to 9 & then all, while the < left & > right keys changes the :) (face) detection modes. Of course, these things can be changed from the SCP except the 9 squares mode. There seems there is something we can learn each day with this camera. ;)

Zuiko
6th September 2012, 01:04 AM
There seems there is something we can learn each day with this camera. ;)



How many days before we can start taking photographs? :D

Ross the fiddler
6th September 2012, 01:12 AM
How many days before we can start taking photographs? :D

Isn't life all about making mistakes & learning from them? Well, take your photos with mistakes & learn there was another way of achieving it afterwards. :p But then it is entertaining reading everybodies elses posts & learning just how wonderful the camera is that we own, but do we have to take photos with it as well. :rolleyes: ;)

I better go & do some work & then I might be able afford something else (lens or whatever) that I can look at & read about (& maybe use too). :D

OM USer
6th September 2012, 09:14 AM
... the ^ up & v down keys changes the number of AF squares (around the selected one) from one to 9 & then all,

Before I turned the SCP on (its off by default) I was often changing the number of "AF squares" by accident. Then I turned the SCP "on" and suddenly found that when I wanted to do this I couldn't find the correct sequence of magic button presses. I did eventually find the "info" button to do this. I'm probably not alone in not liking modality of the info button in the UI (i.e. sometimes it changes something and sometimes it just displays help). Its not really a natural way to extend the functionality of a setting.

Ross the fiddler
6th September 2012, 09:57 AM
Before I turned the SCP on (its off by default) I was often changing the number of "AF squares" by accident. Then I turned the SCP "on" and suddenly found that when I wanted to do this I couldn't find the correct sequence of magic button presses. I did eventually find the "info" button to do this. I'm probably not alone in not liking modality of the info button in the UI (i.e. sometimes it changes something and sometimes it just displays help). Its not really a natural way to extend the functionality of a setting.

I don't mind that its function has been extended but it is certainly more than just information & probably should be referred to as an 'info-mode' button. It's just that everything isn't obvious at first (to some like myself, that take a little longer to absorb everything).

StephenL
6th September 2012, 12:45 PM
I don't know how they'd do it, but it would be good if there could be some indication on the camera what each button has been set to. I cannot remember most of what I've set mine to!

Ross the fiddler
6th September 2012, 12:58 PM
I don't know how they'd do it, but it would be good if there could be some indication on the camera what each button has been set to. I cannot remember most of what I've set mine to!

Yes, I know what you mean, but somehow, little stickers probably wouldn't do it. ;)

Wee man
6th September 2012, 03:42 PM
Write it down take a shot , lock it and you can look it up when you need it?

ayewing
6th September 2012, 07:05 PM
Write it down take a shot , lock it and you can look it up when you need it?

That assumes a level of self discipline and organisation that few of us, including me, possess.:)

Ross the fiddler
6th September 2012, 11:21 PM
Write it down take a shot , lock it and you can look it up when you need it?

Actually, I have done that on my E30 & stored those images on the XD card that just stays there as a backup for certain images, while the main CF card is erased, formatted or swapped. It's not quite the same on the E-M5, but if it is necessary to have some sort of reminder prompt, you could always put a sticker behing the tilting display.

Roberta
25th July 2018, 10:58 AM
A box Brownie is an amazing camera.....(PS my sense of humour after reading the replies)

Ross the fiddler
25th July 2018, 11:32 AM
A box Brownie is an amazing camera.....(PS my sense of humour after reading the replies)

Having some some fun dragging up a bit of dark past, eh? ;) :D

*chr