PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Metering


Macca1980
24th August 2012, 05:16 PM
I need to know if my e-420 can meter for umbrella flash photography.
Is this possible... I was going to buy either a flashgun & umbrella or continuous light softbox.

I would prefer the flashgun route as I can use it for outdoor portraits

Graham_of_Rainham
24th August 2012, 06:36 PM
There are so many ways to use a flash gun and brolly combination. TTL Flash will work if you fire the flash through the brolly as a diffuser or into the brolly as a reflector. You cannot use the flash in "Auto" mode as it will "measure" the light off the brolly not the subject.

However: I always work fully manual, and while I have a flash meter, most of the time I go by experience and with the camera at 250 f/5.6 the FL50R guns are set at 1/8th power at about 2m from the subject.

From this starting point I adjust to what I want, either manually or by using the RC function (especially if the flashgun is high up)

Try thing out and you will very quickly get the hang of it. But remember to only alter one thing at a time and make notes.

Have fun

*chr

Macca1980
24th August 2012, 07:44 PM
Thanks for this .... I didn't know about flash meters . I am total beginner

Macca1980
24th August 2012, 08:02 PM
Also , where is the metering options to do this with external on an e-420?

Graham_of_Rainham
24th August 2012, 11:20 PM
Don't forget we all started with that first camera... ;)

The spec for the E-420 shows:

Built-in flash and wireless flash control from the camera body
Compatible external flash FL-50R, FL-36R
Control method Triggered and controlled by built-in flash light
Modes TTL Auto (TTL pre-flash mode), Auto, Manual, FP TTL Auto, FP Manual
Group setting 3 groups
Number of channels 4 channels

So you can use an FL-36/50R Gun in the off camera TTL Mode.

If you don't use the Olympus Guns, then simply go with any gun with a slave mode and use manual settings.

Macca1980
25th August 2012, 06:52 AM
Don't forget we all started with that first camera... ;)

The spec for the E-420 shows:

Built-in flash and wireless flash control from the camera body
Compatible external flash FL-50R, FL-36R
Control method Triggered and controlled by built-in flash light
Modes TTL Auto (TTL pre-flash mode), Auto, Manual, FP TTL Auto, FP Manual
Group setting 3 groups
Number of channels 4 channels

So you can use an FL-36/50R Gun in the off camera TTL Mode.

If you don't use the Olympus Guns, then simply go with any gun with a slave mode and use manual settings.

Where do you find these modes ? Are they hidden until you connect an external flash ?
Also if its triggered by pop up flash... does that mean you end up with 2 flashes on your photo the pop up & external?
Thanks for advice

rsh1960
25th August 2012, 09:31 AM
Get the info screen up,press ok move the box on the the flash symbol press ok this should give you the flash options

Macca1980
25th August 2012, 09:34 AM
Don't forget we all started with that first camera... ;)

The spec for the E-420 shows:

Built-in flash and wireless flash control from the camera body
Compatible external flashFL-50R, FL-36R
Control methodTriggered and controlled by built-in flash light
ModesTTL Auto (TTL pre-flash mode), Auto, Manual, FP TTL Auto, FP Manual
Group setting 3 groups
Number of channels4 channels

So you can use an FL-36/50R Gun in the off camera TTL Mode.

If you don't use the Olympus Guns, then simply go with any gun with a slave mode and use manual settings.

Hi you said get any gun with a slave mode and use manual settings.
How would I trigger this? Do I need any special cables, hotshoe mounts etc. I know the Olympus ones have there wireless modes but was wondering how other Olympus users trigger their non olympus flash

Graham_of_Rainham
25th August 2012, 10:19 AM
Any flash gun with a built in slave cell will fire when it detects another flash.

Set your camera pop-up flash to it's lowest power (turn off any Pre-Flash for focus assist or red-eye reduction) When you take the picture, the camera flash triggers the slave flash that is set up to provide the main (key) lighting.

I use any old guns bought of eBay and have lots of Olympus T-20 guns that are triggered with slave cell hot shoes like these:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Wireless-Flash-Remote-Slave-Trigger-w-PC-Red-eye-F037-/160853443491?pt=UK_CamerasPhoto_CameraAccessories_ CameraFlashUnits_JN&hash=item25739cc3a3#ht_2218wt_932

If you don't need the full FL-50R facilities and are happy to work manually all the time (which is the best way to learn how to do it) Look on eBay for a good old powerful gun that has variable output.

Any questions, get back to us.

*chr

Macca1980
25th August 2012, 02:39 PM
Any flash gun with a built in slave cell will fire when it detects another flash.

Set your camera pop-up flash to it's lowest power (turn off any Pre-Flash for focus assist or red-eye reduction) When you take the picture, the camera flash triggers the slave flash that is set up to provide the main (key) lighting.

I use any old guns bought of eBay and have lots of Olympus T-20 guns that are triggered with slave cell hot shoes like these:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Wireless-Flash-Remote-Slave-Trigger-w-PC-Red-eye-F037-/160853443491?pt=UK_CamerasPhoto_CameraAccessories_ CameraFlashUnits_JN&hash=item25739cc3a3#ht_2218wt_932

If you don't need the full FL-50R facilities and are happy to work manually all the time (which is the best way to learn how to do it) Look on eBay for a good old powerful gun that has variable output.

Any questions, get back to us.

*chr

Thanks for this info... was what i needed. I was just worried i would buy something then it wouldn't work/be compatible with my camera. I understand it now, if i set my flash to low setting the slave flash will pick up on this (using the wireless flash remote) & fire off into a soft box or brolly .
Does the flash on low setting make any difference to the final image? I have a pop up diffuser , I take its worth having that on anyway?

What old powerful flashguns would you recommend ?


Thanks again for all the help !! :)

Macca1980
25th August 2012, 02:52 PM
Thanks for all the help folks. I am going to buy a slave flashgun, the wireless remote trigger, & some sort of brolly/softbox including stand. hopefully will post some photos if they are good enough lol.

I will use grahams suggestion for settings as a starting point & hopefully that will stop me going on about metering (for a while)

Thanks again.

:)

Graham_of_Rainham
25th August 2012, 03:13 PM
<snip>
if i set my flash to low setting the slave flash will pick up on this (using the wireless flash remote).
<snip>

For Slave Flash triggering, set the pop-up flash to its lowest setting. Do NOT switch the RC ON as this will cause the popup to send out control flashes that will cause the strobe gun to trigger before the shutter opens. You only need the one small flash from the camera to fire the strobe gun(s)


<snip>
Does the flash on low setting make any difference to the final image? I have a pop up diffuser , I take its worth having that on anyway?
<snip>

All light makes a difference, so I tend to "flag" my popup flash so only the slave gun can detect the flash, and none reaches the subject. Although It can be used to add "catch lights" into peoples (models) eyes.

<snip>
What old powerful flashguns would you recommend ?
<snip>

Anything that's cheap :D Metz are very good (not cheap) I have Sunpack, Vivitar, and 7 Olympus T20s (all less than 10)

Variable output is quite important to have. The T20s have to be moved away or defused to reduce their light output, so not always practical.

Some old guns have VERY high trigger voltages (360V) that will kill your camera :eek:
But they are fine as slaves, so go very cheap on eBay :cool:.

Lots of "Strobists" use these:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/YN-460-II-YongNuo-Strobist-Manual-flashgun-Speedlite-/180959177388?pt=UK_CamerasPhoto_CameraAccessories_ CameraFlashUnits_JN&hash=item2a2201eaac#ht_3535wt_828


Do let us know how you get on and do please show the end results.

*chr

Macca1980
25th August 2012, 05:22 PM
For Slave Flash triggering, set the pop-up flash to its lowest setting. Do NOT switch the RC ON as this will cause the popup to send out control flashes that will cause the strobe gun to trigger before the shutter opens. You only need the one small flash from the camera to fire the strobe gun(s)




All light makes a difference, so I tend to "flag" my popup flash so only the slave gun can detect the flash, and none reaches the subject. Although It can be used to add "catch lights" into peoples (models) eyes.



Anything that's cheap :D Metz are very good (not cheap) I have Sunpack, Vivitar, and 7 Olympus T20s (all less than £10)

Variable output is quite important to have. The T20s have to be moved away or defused to reduce their light output, so not always practical.

Some old guns have VERY high trigger voltages (360V) that will kill your camera :eek:
But they are fine as slaves, so go very cheap on eBay :cool:.

Lots of "Strobists" use these:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/YN-460-II-YongNuo-Strobist-Manual-flashgun-Speedlite-/180959177388?pt=UK_CamerasPhoto_CameraAccessories_ CameraFlashUnits_JN&hash=item2a2201eaac#ht_3535wt_828


Do let us know how you get on and do please show the end results.

*chr

Thanks again I will check these out. Your help is greatly appreciated.. I have spent ages looking at stuff online & your advice has cleared this up greatly.

Macca1980
13th September 2012, 06:51 PM
Hi I have the RC to off but it still flashes away to focus on something how do I switch this off. Received flashgun and wireless trigger

Macca1980
13th September 2012, 10:52 PM
It's ok it was af illumination