PDA

View Full Version : Wireless remote flash?


Shane Hoggatt
19th July 2012, 12:35 PM
Hi guys,

I have an E-400 and a FS FL-36 flash, I'm after a wireless remote flash that will work with my set up..

I came across this

amazon.co.uk/Channel-Wireless-Trigger-Umbrella-Flashgun/dp/B004LP6JFU/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1342700179&sr=1-2

(can't add links yet)

Will it work /any good?

Maybe get my self a umbrella or soft box too at some point..

Shane

theMusicMan
19th July 2012, 12:49 PM
Hi Shane

These are the ones you need. I have a set of 3 receivers and two triggers.

http://www.ukhighland.co.uk/ishoot-pt04c-multi-hotshoe-radio-wireless-flash-studio-trigger.html

I bought them from this chap but from his eBay site rather than the one I linked to here. Very helpful, and they work a treat.

http://www.ukhighland.co.uk/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/t/c/tc-f0a8-riq4.jpg

snaarman
19th July 2012, 12:51 PM
Yes, I use iShoot triggers as well (previous version) and they are generally OK. A Whole Lot Cheaper than Pocket Wizards..

Pete

Bikie John
19th July 2012, 01:04 PM
I've got some from Phottix which are simple and seem to work well. No TTL auto flash control, but I reckon that's over-rated anyway.

Ciao ... John

Graham_of_Rainham
19th July 2012, 01:27 PM
I use these, the advantage being that you can control the camera with them as well as the flash :cool:

http://www.pixelhk.com/pixel_cn/20101668pixel/admin/subWeb/uploadProImage/2010-8-7%2017_03_59.jpg

http://www.pixelhk.com/Proshow.aspx?id=65

Shane Hoggatt
19th July 2012, 01:50 PM
Many thanks guys think I will go with the ishoot model ..


Shane

Shane Hoggatt
20th July 2012, 04:40 PM
Just a quick question . will the receiver fit on a tripod or will i need a light stand and special fitting etc?


cheers

theMusicMan
20th July 2012, 05:20 PM
Just a quick question . will the receiver fit on a tripod or will i need a light stand and special fitting etc?


cheers
Shane - the iShoot receivers have a standard tripod screw mount (female thread) on the underside so you can attach it to a stand and place the flash unit on top.

Shane Hoggatt
20th July 2012, 05:21 PM
Shane - the iShoot receivers have a standard tripod screw mount (female thread) on the underside so you can attach it to a stand and place the flash unit on top.

excellent thanks i have ordered one tonight :)

Shane Hoggatt
24th July 2012, 12:20 PM
Hey guys

Just received my ishoot.. Put some Batts in and connected it to Flashgun but it won't trigger the flash.. Even if I press the button on the remote ?

Didn't come with any instructions.. Red light come on the remote when I press the button and on the receiver there is one flashing red light?

Any ideas

Benedict
24th July 2012, 01:29 PM
Have you swiched the channels on the receiver and the transmitter to operate on the same channel? Easily overlooked.

Shane Hoggatt
24th July 2012, 01:36 PM
Yes, I tried all different incase there was interferance. I bought new recharchables so maybe not enough power in them.. Also I have another flash at home could try that too..

Graham_of_Rainham
24th July 2012, 01:49 PM
Any ideas

I have heard this happens with those and that the item is essentially DoA

I've not heard a bad word for these:

http://www.pixelhk.com/pixel_cn/20101668pixel/admin/subWeb/uploadProImage/2010-8-7%2017_03_59.jpg

http://www.pixelhk.com/Proshow.aspx?id=65

Send them back and get something that works.

Good luck

theMusicMan
24th July 2012, 07:44 PM
It does sound as though you have a dud, Shane. I have three receivers, and two triggers and haven't had any issue with them over nearly 3 years.

If, when you press the button on the top of the transmitter, there is a flash on one of the LED's on the receiver - they the comms between them seems to be working. If though, when you place the flash on the receiver it doesn't trigger the flash then there's something amiss. Perhaps as a last resort, clean the flash contacts (after turning the power off) and also the trigger contact on the receiver and see if that works.

Sorry you're experiencing issues after I recommended them.

Shane Hoggatt
24th July 2012, 07:51 PM
hi john.

after alit of button pressing battery changing channel hopping and sulking.. it fired.. i worked out it will fire id the two units are touching .. if i move them apart even 1cm it wont. i emailed uk highlander.. he emailed my back in about a 1min 30secs :O .. anyway he asked what batts i was using and said its made to take 1.5v aaa i was using 1.2v so i went and got some more news batts this time 1.5v but it does the same its like it goes out of range.. anyway i told the guy at uk highlander and he asked what flash i using.. awaiting reply. and dont worry john im sure its just a dud..


shane

Shane Hoggatt
26th July 2012, 02:55 PM
just an update for anyone intrested .. they received my ishoot today and tested it and turns out its a faulty one.. so he is sending me a tested one out tomorrow .. great service over at UK Highlander