PDA

View Full Version : E-M5 RAW files using Oly Viewer 2


Ross the fiddler
13th July 2012, 01:30 PM
When I open RAW files from my E-M5 in Olympus Viewer 2 (1.4 & earlier versions) it initially looks quite noisy for about 30 seconds like this (these are Print Screens).

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/Toby-initial_display.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=49073)

And after the 30 seconds it cleans up like this. :confused:

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/500/Toby-final_display.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=49072)

Can anyone explain what is happening & why it takes that long to show the final display? I'm using a Core 2 Duo 2.2GHz processor with Win7 Pro.

Thanks in advance for any explanations.
*chr

CJJE
13th July 2012, 02:13 PM
I'm not using RAW at present, but can only suggest the software is taking its time converting the image data. Adobe have updated their RAW converters for Lightroom 4, Photoshop 6 and Photoshop Elements 10; but I have PE9 which can't use the updated CameraRaw converter :( so I'm waiting for PE11 this September.

Chris

StephenL
13th July 2012, 02:49 PM
Yes, I found that from day one. Annoying. But as I use LR it's not an issue for me any more.

Ian
13th July 2012, 03:36 PM
Yes, it's simply a performance issue. Viewer 2 code is not very fast. Incidentally, I vaguely recall it has to be configured to use multiple CPU cores?

Ian

snaarman
13th July 2012, 04:09 PM
Adobe ACR also seems to import a rough looking version of a raw file at first. I suspect it is reads the embedded thumbnail for you to look at while it is loading the real version. It takes 10 seconds or so.

Pete

OM USer
13th July 2012, 04:26 PM
Perhaps I never waited 30 seconds. I thought it was a bug that you got a noisy picture on opening a RAW (no problems with jpg). But I did find that if I zoomed in (+) and then clicked on the fit to window button that it did redraw it without the noise in about 5 seconds. My PC is 2GHz CPU 3GB RAM running XP (so LR 4.x is not an option), not the fastest, but more than adequate I would have thought.

Ross the fiddler
15th July 2012, 12:21 PM
Yes, it's simply a performance issue. Viewer 2 code is not very fast. Incidentally, I vaguely recall it has to be configured to use multiple CPU cores?

Ian

Thanks Ian & all the others for replying. I felt it was basically that but got a little frustrated waiting for it, enough to drive me to seek an answer from others for it. I'll have another look at my setup incase there is a change that would benefit.

*chr

smartwombat
16th July 2012, 06:38 PM
I have a quad core 2.5GHz system and Olympus view is still rubbish.
Sadly so was DXO Optics Pro when I tried it.
Still Lightroom beats them both for speed of bulk loading, and updating the screen when editing.