PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Flash

ChrisF
8th July 2012, 10:13 AM
Sorry, I'm new to the E-450, trying to work out how to turn built in flash off.

Robusto
8th July 2012, 11:42 AM
to turn off flash go into your flash mode setting and select the option with a circle and a flash in the middle that will turn it of

ChrisF
8th July 2012, 03:26 PM
thanks for that but it rather supposes that I know how to get to my flash mode setting!:)

PeterBirder
8th July 2012, 04:08 PM
Hi Chris.
You need to go to the "Super Control Panel" by pressing the Info button (Handbook p.7/p.28). Select the Flash settings icon. The section of the handbook which starts on p.66 explains what all the various flash modes do. You will want to select Flash Off :) and when you do this the icon on the super control panel will turn to a flash symbol with a diagonal line through it.

Regards.*chr

PeterBirder
8th July 2012, 05:31 PM
Hi Chris.
As you are new to the e-450 you will find Andrezej Wrotniak's site www.wrotniak.net useful.
His article on setting up the e-410/e510 is equally applicable to your e-450 and gives a much clearer explanation of what many of the settings actually achieve etc. than the Olympus handbook. This will give you a good starting point for getting the best from your camera.
The link to this article is www.wrotniak.net/photo/43/e510-sett.html

Regards.*chr

ChrisF
8th July 2012, 07:26 PM
am obviously thick but can't get anywhere with the info button and the other answer leads me to something which says he keeps his flash on all the time

PeterBirder
8th July 2012, 07:45 PM
Strange.
What comes up on the screen when you switch the camera on?

ChrisF
8th July 2012, 07:51 PM
a kind of menu which shows current settings but no way to move between things. Now I thin I've buggered it, how do you reset to standard?

PeterBirder
8th July 2012, 08:02 PM
Don't worry.:) That's the super control panel.