PDA

View Full Version : Lens adapters ????

bully74uk
21st June 2008, 06:56 PM
Ive just taken the plunge and upgraded from a bridge camera to DSLR and am eagerly awaiting delivery of an E510 twin lens kit.

Whilst browsing through fleabay I came across this:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Nikon-Lens-to-Olympus-4-E330-E410-420-E500-E510-adaptor_W0QQitemZ170230766218QQcmdZViewItem?hash=i tem170230766218&_trkparms=72%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C65%3A12&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

From the looks of it, its an adapter ring that will enable one to fix Nikon lenses to the Olympus four thirds system

Knowing very little about the four thirds, or interchangeable lenses in general can anyone tell me if there are any problems with using an adapter like this ?

Would image quality be affected using Nikon lenses on an Olympus ?

Would AF work or would it have to be MF only ?

Sorry if its a stupid question but im a DSLR newbie, in fact im not even that because the camera hasn't arrived yet !

R MacE
21st June 2008, 07:16 PM
Hi,

broadly speaking the adapters are to allow you to use manual focus lenses. You can use AF lenses but you'll still need to focus manually and as the aperture needs to be set manually you need to use a lens that has an aperture ring.

IMHO having used various MF lenses on E-System bodies it's workable and a bit of fun but you're better off in the long run using dedicated 4/3rds lenses.

Richard

snaarman
21st June 2008, 07:18 PM
Hi there..
I bought one of these a year ago and have tried a couple of Nikon lenses on my E-400 without major problems.

However...

You won't get autofocus. If its a modern Nikon AF kit lens (G series ??) where you don't have an aperture ring than you are in trouble.. that will restrict you even more.

Assuming you put an older legacy nikkor on there then you can use the Oly in Aperture priority or manual exposure and manual focus and get good results, but you might find focusing a problem unless you fit a split image screen in your camera.