PDA

View Full Version : Linux help

StephenL
19th June 2008, 05:14 PM
I'm getting increasingly more p***d off with Windoze (Vista) and its associated encumbrances, and so I'm thinking of testing out a Linux install on a spare PC I have. I used to work in IT (for 25 years) so have no idea what I'm doing. :confused:
Can anyone give me some pointers to start with? I'd like advice on which version of Linux, how to do a clean install, presumably I'd need Gimp but what about Raw converters, USB support for card readers, printers? Any hints and tips would be greatly appreciated. *chr

Chillimonster
19th June 2008, 05:50 PM
The only distro i have ever got round to installing is Ubuntu and everything worked out of the box. This was on a works amchine connected to a 2003 server pc and it just worked.

The beauty of Linux is that most of the major distros have "live" cd's to try, meaning it just runs from the CD/DVD and will give you an idea of what will / will not work from your setup.

When you find one you like, hit the install button :)

Chris

gno
19th June 2008, 06:47 PM
"I used to work in IT (for 25 years) so have no idea what I'm doing."

Hi Stephen,
That's it with IT you never know enough, there's always something new to learn.

I've always liked the idea of a Linux or perhaps BSD OS but have always been put off by the fact that I would miss Photoshop. I seems that now you can have you cake and eat it by running PS on Linux.

http://apcmag.com/google_behind_photoshops_new_linux_compatibility.h tm

Perhaps someone has experience of WINE as to how good it is.

Vista seems to be a problem for many users have you considered reverting to XP as others have done.

Regards

Gavin

StephenL
19th June 2008, 07:02 PM
Yes, it's on my list of options, but since that also would mean a total re-install I thought I might try something completely different! Why do something the easy way when there's a hard way? :rolleyes: