PDA

View Full Version : E-620 White Balance Problem


IainMacD
29th May 2012, 05:52 PM
I have been struggling along with my E-620 and the white balance settings and feel it is time to do something about it instead of spending so long at the computer after each photo session.
Below is an image taken this evening with the E-1 which when viewed in Lightroom shows a Temperature of 5950 and a Tint of +13:

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/1321/20120529-test-P5294010.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/47297)

This is the same scene taken with the same lens etc... on the E-620 which shows as Temperature 4400 Tint -14:

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/1321/20120529-test-Q5294008.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/47298)

(Apologies for the image quality and subject matter, I was just trying to prove a point)

I am wondering whether, over time, I have managed to change some hidden settings on the E-620 so I was wondering if anyone else had encountered such a problem and if you think a full reset is worthwhile?
I still like the output of the 620 but I would rather spend more time in places like this rather than sat at the computer trying to get the colours correct:

http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/1126/20120527-Handa_Beaches-Q5273934.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/47299)
(Taken Sunday - note the difference in the weather!)

Any help would be gladly welcomed
Thanks

Ulfric M Douglas
30th May 2012, 06:21 AM
Try my little fix for the e-600 (and e-P1 & e-pL1 ) where out of the box they seem to make woodland scenes a bit too brown and lacking in lushness.
Go to the WB menu : All WB and simply nudge the red-green slider one or two stops towards green.
This completely cured the perceived problem on all our similar cameras and brought the tree scenes back in line with the nicer colours from my old e-410 and other brands.

Ian
30th May 2012, 11:59 AM
Ulfric, I don't think this will work for Iain as I am pretty sure he is shooting RAW. Those settings will have no effect in Lightroom with a RAW file.

I think it could be a problem with Lightroom - perhaps the profile for the E-620 in his installation is corrupted?

Iain - can you shoot an sRGB JPEG and view that and compare with the RAW view in Lightroom?

Ian

IainMacD
31st May 2012, 08:18 PM
Ulfric, I don't think this will work for Iain as I am pretty sure he is shooting RAW. Those settings will have no effect in Lightroom with a RAW file.

I think it could be a problem with Lightroom - perhaps the profile for the E-620 in his installation is corrupted?

Iain - can you shoot an sRGB JPEG and view that and compare with the RAW view in Lightroom?

Ian

Thanks Ian, you might have something there, I hadn't thought that it could be a software issue. I should get a chance to use a different PC with lightroom 4 on it this weekend and will have a play; I am also going to test the import with Olympus Viewer and Faststone.
If the import settings are corrupt do you have any ideas how it might be fixed?
Thanks again for your suggestion

IainMacD
4th June 2012, 05:58 PM
I have had a bit of a play and this problem persists. I have tried importing images from both the E-1 and E-620 using different software (Olympus Viewer & Faststone) to no avail, opening the imported files in Photoshop; I have even tried all the above on a different PC.
In the camera I have tried 'One Touch White Balance', setting Custom white balance to 5400 Kelvin, turned off the external WB sensor and still the E-1 images came in with Kelvin values of around 5500 and the E-620 images with values in the low 4000s (on both PCs).
These haven't been very scientific tests but I feel I have exhausted everything I can do.
My question is do you think a camera reset is worth a try? I have made a note of my settings so it wouldn't take too long to put it back to the current state.
If this doesn't work I think it will have to be sent to Olympus service.
Any suggestions welcomed
Thank you

IainMacD
4th June 2012, 09:24 PM
OK, how do I perform a full reset?

jamie allan
5th June 2012, 08:34 AM
Iain,
I have the E-600 so the manual may be slightly different but in the E-600 manual it's on page 92.
Select Menu
Select Camera 1 menu
Select Custom Reset
Select Reset

You could actually store your existing settings first using
Select Menu
Select Camera 1 menu
Select Custom Reset
Select Reset 1
Select Set

This would allow you to pull back your saved settings

I don't know if you've seen this site but there is a better explanation of the E-620 camera and settings here.
http://www.biofos.com/esystem/e620_set.html

Hope that helps

IainMacD
5th June 2012, 10:17 PM
Iain,
I have the E-600 so the manual may be slightly different but in the E-600 manual it's on page 92.
Select Menu
Select Camera 1 menu
Select Custom Reset
Select Reset

You could actually store your existing settings first using
Select Menu
Select Camera 1 menu
Select Custom Reset
Select Reset 1
Select Set

This would allow you to pull back your saved settings

I don't know if you've seen this site but there is a better explanation of the E-620 camera and settings here.
http://www.biofos.com/esystem/e620_set.html

Hope that helps

Thanks Jamie, I tried that method and it made no difference so I eventually found how to do a full factory reset:
Open Card Door
Switch on camera
Press Menu and OK at same time & release
Hold Menu and OK in for 3 seconds
Follow on-screen instructions

Guess what? Yup, still the same! So I am now at the point where I think
1. The E-1 is the problem and the wb on it is too warm
2. I haven't got a clue when it comes to the software I am using
3. The E-620 has developed some kind of fault

1 seems unlikely as the images look true to the light conditions, 2 is very likely and 3 could be possible as I looked back at images taken when I first had it (April 2011 - still plenty of warranty) and in daylight the RAW files are showing a Kelvin value in the mid 5000s (something I have been unable to achieve recently). But it seems a strange kind of fault and one I have never heard of before.

Anyway I have dug out the receipt and may well be contacting Oly support very soon!

jamie allan
5th June 2012, 10:27 PM
Iain,
I don't have an E-1 or E-620 but do have an E-3 and E-600. I don't have LR but do have CS3 extended. If it could help in any way I could try to replicate what you've done and see if I get any differing results.

IainMacD
5th June 2012, 10:47 PM
Hi Jamie, yes please, if you get the chance take a couple of images (RAW) of the same scene on each camera using the same lens and settings (I also used the same card for convenience) and import them onto your PC. Open them in Photoshop and compare the Temp and Tint settings under WB in the RAW converter window and the general colour of the images.
I would expect two fully working cameras to produce pretty similar values for WB, but I may be wrong so if you have the time in the next week or so let me know how you get on.
Thanks for the advice and help

jamie allan
6th June 2012, 06:14 PM
Iain,
I've tried what you asked and here's a couple of images of the results. Apologies for the images the weather here isn't very good so they are shots from my back door. My wife's clematis is taking over the garden - I wouldn't be surprised if it's not really a triffid. I tried to ensure a range of colour and light across the image.
E-600 f/8 1/60s iso200 14mm on 14-54 lens Temp 5650 Tint -8
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/1438/E-600_test_1_.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/47615)

E-3 f/8 1/60s iso200 14mm on 14-54 lens Temp 5600 Tint -2
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/1438/E-3_test_1_.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/47614)
They were taken within the time it took to changeover the lens and memory card - I've just noticed neither camera clock is set correctly.
Hope this helps.

Zuiko
6th June 2012, 06:56 PM
Iain, have you tried taking a raw + jpeg test shot? The JPEG WB will be set in camera and not influenced in any way by the software, unlike the raw. Given that the raw from the camera will nominally be set at the same value as the JPEG, it will indicate that it is a software issue if the raw WB is much different in the developer. If JPEG and raw values are the same but clearly wrong it will point to it being a camera fault.

IainMacD
6th June 2012, 10:01 PM
Jamie
Thanks for taking the time to do that, it is much appreciated. Your results are what I would expect from 2 cameras and would be acceptable to me. I am even more convinced now that there is a problem somewhere.

John
That is a good suggestion, I will try that tomorrow evening if I have time and the weather is OK (??), I will also dust down the E-510 and see how that records the WB under the same conditions.
I will try posting the results here - is there a quick way of deleting images from my gallery apart from deleting the folders? I am at the limit and can't see an obvious way to remove individual or multiple images to free up more space.

Thanks again guys for the help/suggestions.

Zuiko
6th June 2012, 10:28 PM
Iain, here is a quick tutorial on how to delete individual images from the gallery:-

http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=19326

Also, if you send Ian a PM he will give you some more gallery space! :)

Roberta
7th June 2012, 07:31 AM
What I always have with the 600 and 620 is dullness so I shoot with a +0.3 but I'm no expert