PDA

View Full Version : EM-3 jpegs in LR3


David Morison
6th May 2012, 02:29 PM
Although I haven't yet upgraded to LR4 or PSE10 I am taking images in RAW as well as jpeg for future use. However if I try to open a jpeg for editing in LR3 it will only show the ORFs which of course cannot be opened. There doesn't appear to be any way I can open the jpegs if they are associated with an ORF. No such problem in PSE9 though. Any ideas?

David

Bikie John
6th May 2012, 03:16 PM
David - it is discussed tangentially at the current end (page 2) of this thread: http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=20255

Briefly - Adobe have issued version 6.7 of the Adobe Camera Raw converter, which understands E-M5 raw files. This works with Photoshop CS5, and from what you say about Elements it works there as well. To my surprise after updating it via Photoshop, Lightroom 3 said it was still using version 6.6 which doesn't understand E-M5 raw. It seems that LR has its own set of raw conversion routines and they aren't shared with PS.

Lightroom 4 is out now, it uses ACR version 7.0 which also doesn't understand E-M5 raw. However, Adobe have made a preliminary version of LR4.1 available, called Release Candidate 2. This includes version 7.1 of the raw converter, which does. LR4 also has some better controls than version 3 - however, it is a chargeable upgrade. I think you can download LR4.1 RC2 and run it as a trial version for a while, it certainly handles E-M5 raw files very nicely and it would give you a good chance to see whether you think it is worth paying for the upgrade to 4.

Hope this helps ... John

OlyPaul
6th May 2012, 03:19 PM
Hi David, in the Prefrences you have to tick the box shown to import jpegs with the same file name.

After ticking this box you may have to delte your EM5 ORF's from the catalogue NOT THE HADRIVE and re import them.

http://www.pbase.com/paulsilkphotography/image/143127605.jpg