PDA

View Full Version : Is the 12-60mm swd worth the Xtra?

Guitarrero
11th April 2012, 03:04 PM
I'm new to the Olympus dslr world and I 'think' I want to buy a 12-60 swd to go on an E-620 body as a cracking walkabout setup..... BUT, is the 12-60 really worth all the extra cash over the 14-42 kit lens (from which I've seen some pretty impressive results)??
I'm not talking about extra focal range/aperture/speed .... just sheer image quality.
Sorry if this has been covered, but I've tried a quick search on the forum for this topic but can't find much ... could be operator error though!!
Thanks!

snaarman
11th April 2012, 03:24 PM
This might not be an answer, but the 14-54 is a worthwhile improvement over the 14-42 (I have both) and I am told the 12-60 is just that bit better than the 14-54 :)

'Course there is always the 14-35 if you have deep pockets *chr

Pete

crimbo
11th April 2012, 04:53 PM
I have a 12-60 and use it on the E-620 as well as an E-1...
If I had to start again it would be get a 12-60 and then work out which body to buy to use it on... if you can afford it I say buy it

StephenL
11th April 2012, 04:59 PM
Image quality the 14-54 is not much less than the 12-60, but it is a bit cheaper and in my opinion is ergonomically slightly better on the E-620 because it's not quite as fat. But the 12-60 does have a better range, and despite what I have said it works very well on the E-620. Both lenses are better than the kit lens, which itself is no slouch for a "cheapie".

Guitarrero
11th April 2012, 05:05 PM
Thanks to both....

I'm not au fait with the 14-54 either but I'm guessing it falls between the 14-42 and the 12-60 in terms of optical quality (and cost!).

I don't have the chance to try these lenses so, which ever one I end up with will be bought at a distance ... so your opinions are appreciated.