PDA

View Full Version : Split Screen Viewfinder


Grumpy Hec
22nd November 2011, 01:29 PM
As I find manual focusing rather tricky, due to less than 20 20 vision, on my E250 I'm thinking of installing the split screen viewfinder conversion which I have seen mentioned in the past.

Has anyone had experience of a) installing and b) subsequent usage?

Also where did they source from?

cheers

Hec

E-P1 fan
22nd November 2011, 01:51 PM
I asked this a few hours ago on the E500 thread

"Has anyone changed the focus screen of their dslr?

How difficult is this to do - ie can you do any damage? I remember doing this many years ago with my slr but I've not attempted it with a dslr before.

Do Olympus produce a split screen for the E400/300 etc?

There are 3rd party screens available online and on eBay but I can't find an Olympus screen.

Shall we combine our enquiries?

StephenL
22nd November 2011, 01:55 PM
The name "Katz Eye" rings a bell, but I'm afraid I know nothing more. Perhaps a Google for this maker might help?

Edit: check this out:

http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/cat--Olympus-DSLRs--cat_olympus.html

E-P1 fan
22nd November 2011, 04:38 PM
Thanks Stephen - yes I know them - also Virtual Village - and plenty more in China etc. I was hoping Olympus did a pukka screen - working on the principle that after-market can often be inferior in manufacture to the home brand. (allegedly)

snaarman
22nd November 2011, 04:43 PM
I did this years ago in an E400.. here's my page about it http://www.snaar.co.uk/fourthirds/index.html

I am not so certain it was a "good thing" because small 4/3 viewfinders don't work like you remember those big old 35mm film viewfinders. For some reason. I found I was still straining to work out if the thing was in focus... and I went back to AF lenses and hoped for the best

The definitive answer (ask StephenL) is to use a good EVF on the nice new Pen you may not have :)

Pete

Grumpy Hec
22nd November 2011, 10:41 PM
Thanks for the comments. Not as clear cut as it appears at first it seems. Plenty of research needed before shelling out if at all.

Hec

DJMC
22nd November 2011, 11:09 PM
I still have mine installed on the E-1, as here: http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=17039

From what I recall, the E-1 is far easier to convert than the E-5** series, but I can't recall why?

Have a look here for the answers maybe?: http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/item--Olympus-E-510-520-Focusing-Screen--prod_E510.html

Katzeye appear to be the market leader in this type of screen.

Hope that helps.

Bikie John
23rd November 2011, 10:16 AM
Some users managed to fit different screens in various bodies, but I think the E-1 was the only one sold with an "officially" user-replaceable screen. A distant memory says that you could send an E-3 in and have it converted, but for the other bodies Oly never even offered the option. The E-1 was a bit of a hangover from OM film camera days, where the single-digit bodies allowed easy changing of the screens, and they had about 14 of them. I don't know why they stopped with the E series, maybe bobody bought the screens (except me for the E-1), maybe they caused problems, maybe it was expensive to fit the changing mechanism in the bodies.

Ciao ... John

DJMC
23rd November 2011, 10:49 AM
Some users managed to fit different screens in various bodies, but I think the E-1 was the only one sold with an "officially" user-replaceable screen. A distant memory says that you could send an E-3 in and have it converted, but for the other bodies Oly never even offered the option. The E-1 was a bit of a hangover from OM film camera days, where the single-digit bodies allowed easy changing of the screens, and they had about 14 of them. I don't know why they stopped with the E series, maybe bobody bought the screens (except me for the E-1), maybe they caused problems, maybe it was expensive to fit the changing mechanism in the bodies.

Ciao ... John

John,
Did Olympus make an OM type split screen for the E-1?

:confused:

Bikie John
23rd November 2011, 12:09 PM
John,
Did Olympus make an OM type split screen for the E-1?

:confused:

They offered a choice of screens, but I can't remember the details. I think there was only one alternative, it might have been plain with a grid ruled on it, I would have to dig the E-1 out of mothballs to check. But because the body was designed to allow the user to change the screens it meant it was a lot easier to fit ones from third parties such as Katz Eye.

Hope this helps, I'll go foraging for the E-1 later.

Ciao ... John

DJMC
23rd November 2011, 12:42 PM
They offered a choice of screens, but I can't remember the details. I think there was only one alternative, it might have been plain with a grid ruled on it, I would have to dig the E-1 out of mothballs to check. But because the body was designed to allow the user to change the screens it meant it was a lot easier to fit ones from third parties such as Katz Eye.

Hope this helps, I'll go foraging for the E-1 later.

Ciao ... John

Just curious John. I'm quite happy with my Katzeye so don't go rummaging just for me!

One thing I have noticed is that my eye has to be central to the eyecup for precise manual focusing. As I move my eye to the left or right the horizontal split in the screen will shift the upper and lower parts of a vertical line on the subject matter very slightly in relation to each other. This is very similar to when I look through a rifle scope and movement of my head alters slightly the crosshair position on the target. So long as you know this is a possibility you can position your eye correctly. It's second nature now for me when shooting rifles, not yet with the E-1 though. :rolleyes:

Grumpy Hec
23rd November 2011, 10:23 PM
A very interesting exchange. One thing I noticed on the Katz Eyes site is that ittates that you lose the focus point indicators. I do use them a lot so that's a factor to consider.

Hec

DJMC
23rd November 2011, 10:32 PM
A very interesting exchange. One thing I noticed on the Katz Eyes site is that ittates that you lose the focus point indicators. I do use them a lot so that's a factor to consider.

Hec

You'll have to remind me.......

:confused:

Bikie John
24th November 2011, 04:30 PM
Just for the record - when the E-1 was launched it had a standard focussing screen designated the FS-1. This was mostly plain, it had a few markings to show metering and autofocus areas and no manual focus aids. They offered one alternative screen, the FS-2, which was the same as the FS-1 but had a grid of lines etched on it. No focus aids like a split-image or microprism. Changing the screen was done by the user, and was very similar to the old OM film bodies. The FS-2 came in a fancy plastic case with a pair of tweezers, you pulled a tab in the body and a frame which supported the screen dropped down. The screen had a tab on one side that fit the tweezers, you would lift the screen out and stand it on its end in the slot in the fancy box, put the other one in and clip the tray back in place.

It was a bit pointless with only one alternative screen, although I found the lines on the FS-2 quite useful in reducing the frequency of wonky horizons. But as we said earlier the fact that the body was designed for changing screens meant that we could use third-party ones if we wanted.

Ciao ... John

bowtie57
24th November 2011, 08:12 PM
if this shows up twice my apologies.

do not have one of these but looked into them when i tried canon. he does his own laset etching so focus areas and metering show up as they should.

www.focusingscreen.com

he makes several types of screen for several models of olympus. hope it helps you in your search.

Larry

ps was a concrete pump operator for 40 years and every ready mix driver in northern California called me GRUMPY too.

Grumpy Hec
21st December 2011, 01:50 PM
Thanks and apologies for not picking this up sooner. That site looks very interesting indeed. Definitely worthy of investigation.

Hec

Grumpy Hec
21st December 2011, 02:16 PM
do not have one of these but looked into them when i tried canon. he does his own laset etching so focus areas and metering show up as they should.


Larry

ps was a concrete pump operator for 40 years and every ready mix driver in northern California called me GRUMPY too.

Just had a look and am very interested. One thing I'm not clear on is whether or not the focus point indicators, three on my E520 which you can change, will still show up and chnage as you manually swap them. Your comment seems to suggest that they do still work.

Notwithstanding that point I like the rule of thirds grid option which should also make horizons a little easier as well as a quick compositional tool.

On a more important note glad to see grumpiness is international. I sense an international movement here*chr

cheers

Hec

Wally
21st December 2011, 05:44 PM
Probably a bit late in the action but my e-3 proved to be a real barsteward when it came to swapping screens. It came out like a bat out of hell and like trying to pour a gallon into a wee whisky glass it didn't work. Some have done it, but by all accounts you need excellent eyesight, ferret fingers and nerves of steel not to forget having some luck along the way. Something, if I remember correctly, is that the e-510 for example is more of a DIY than the e-3. I mention this as it may be a similar sitrep for some of the other e-*** series.

Having a new screen fitted in the e-3 with the cross hairs = 0 & X type grid was around 70.

Grumpy Hec
22nd December 2011, 10:14 AM
Probably a bit late in the action but my e-3 proved to be a real barsteward when it came to swapping screens. It came out like a bat out of hell and like trying to pour a gallon into a wee whisky glass it didn't work. Some have done it, but by all accounts you need excellent eyesight, ferret fingers and nerves of steel not to forget having some luck along the way. Something, if I remember correctly, is that the e-510 for example is more of a DIY than the e-3. I mention this as it may be a similar sitrep for some of the other e-*** series.

Having a new screen fitted in the e-3 with the cross hairs = 0 & X type grid was around 70.

Thanks for that - did you find it worthwhile? Also I wonder of you can comment on my question regarding the foucus point indicators; are they lost with the new screen? That is something I use when in AF mode so that would be a big factor in deciding to go with this or not.



cheers

Hec

bowtie57
22nd December 2011, 06:17 PM
Just had a look and am very interested. One thing I'm not clear on is whether or not the focus point indicators, three on my E520 which you can change, will still show up and chnage as you manually swap them. Your comment seems to suggest that they do still work.

Notwithstanding that point I like the rule of thirds grid option which should also make horizons a little easier as well as a quick compositional tool.

On a more important note glad to see grumpiness is international. I sense an international movement here*chr

cheers

Hec

Hec,

as i remember(been a while) i contacted him about the same issue on my old
reblel xt and on that model the focus points did show. that was the clincher
for me if i decided to buy and that was when i found out he did his own laser
etching.

when i contacted him it seems to me he answered pretty quickly.

hope it helps, larry*chr

Grumpy Hec
28th December 2011, 04:27 PM
Hec,

as i remember(been a while) i contacted him about the same issue on my old
reblel xt and on that model the focus points did show. that was the clincher
for me if i decided to buy and that was when i found out he did his own laser
etching.

when i contacted him it seems to me he answered pretty quickly.

hope it helps, larry*chr


Thanks Larry - I will contact him to check out what he can do onb that front but it does sound veru encouraging.

Thanks for the update

cheers

Hec