PDA

View Full Version : noise filtering

Bryso
17th October 2011, 01:06 AM
OK just getting to grips with my new toys(be gental I'm new to oly) so i shoot raw, and have these new features called noise reduction and noise filter, so what is the general consensus do switch everything on or off, does it matter if i shoot raw, your help from experienced Oly users is very appreciated *chr

Bryso
17th October 2011, 01:34 AM
heres a picture i took with my E5, iso 1600, does this look about right, I'm getting worked up about setting, never had these things to worry about lol, i like things simple :o
http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/data/503/thumbs/isotest.jpg (http://e-group.uk.net/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=39885)

Nick Temple-Fry
17th October 2011, 01:43 AM
Noise Reduction and Noise filter are actually two very different things.

Noise Reduction is 'dark frame subtraction' - the camera takes your shot and then with the shutter closed takes a second picture (with the same exposure time), anything bright in the second shot is assumed to be noise and taken away from the first before the raw file is saved. Generally a good thing on e-system cameras so leave set to auto unless you are forced not to (say rapid shots in the dark of a fleeing burglar).

Noise filter is applied to the creation of jpegs/tiffs etc in camera (though the camera settings will also be used by Olympus Viewer in raw conversion), really it's a matter of taste as to how much you apply.

Nick

theMusicMan
17th October 2011, 06:42 AM
Very well explained, Nick. But... at 3:30 in the morning... ?? :)

snaarman
17th October 2011, 07:15 AM
Very well explained, Nick. But... at 3:30 in the morning... ?? :)

He was obviously waiting for a 2 hour time exposure shot with Noise Reduction to finish...

Bikie John
17th October 2011, 07:56 AM
What Nick said, plus ....