PDA

View Full Version : Which flash to buy?

Floribunda
4th August 2011, 07:18 AM
Having just purchased a 35mm Macro lens (possibly one of my less than good decisions! :D) I have decided that I need an external flash, mainly for Macro work.
Any suggestions as to what I should buy? Not prepared to mortgage the house as I am not sure I will take to Macro.
I made a post a little while ago complaining that the inbuilt flash on the E-520 hit the barrel of the 12-60mm lens, casting a shadow. It was suggested an external flash would solve this problem.
Could the same flash be used for both situations? And if so, which one

Danny
4th August 2011, 09:15 AM
Well I'm no expert on macro, but I use the FL35R with the 35mm macro lens, as it has enough power for the working distance of the lens. I use a combo of off-camera on a bracket, on camera, and off camera held in my other hand while shooting macro stuff.

Seems to work for me, and I never have the flash set any higher than fill flash!

Thansk

D

Wee man
4th August 2011, 10:09 AM
Expensive; but I find the Mecablitz 15 MS-1 ring flash works well for macro, with differing adaptor plates it can be used with other lenses. I did try a LED ring but could not get the results I wanted (might have been pilot error).

Swordfish
4th August 2011, 10:37 AM
I find the FL35R pretty good for macro and most other uses; it also works well with my 12-60mm on an E620.

It is clearly not the most powerful, but it is reliable, fast to recycle and compact. Picked mine up on e-bay.

Martin

Floribunda
6th August 2011, 01:31 AM
Expensive; but I find the Mecablitz 15 MS-1 ring flash works well for macro, with differing adaptor plates it can be used with other lenses. I did try a LED ring but could not get the results I wanted (might have been pilot error).