PDA

View Full Version : Help with FL-CB05 clone flash cord


jdal
16th July 2011, 12:06 PM
I've just purchased a flash cord from an Amazon seller, allegedly an FL-CB05 clone, and it seems to be duff. I'm a complete beginner with flash so go easy on me!

An example: When I use the FL-50 mounted on the camera directly and with the camera set to 'P' mode, the camera switches to 1/60th, the flash zooms with the lens etc etc and all is well. When I attach the flash via the cable none of this happens. The shutter speed remains at whatever the caneras metering sets it at and there's no zooming. When I take a shot, the flash is triggered, but nothing else works.

I only get "Auto" and "Manual" as available modes on the flash, which reading the flash manual implies that there is no comminication with the camera.

I had assumed that the cord would make the flash behave exactly as if it was attached to the camera. The cord is a Pixel FC-314. Does this sound right?? Is there some flash setting I'm missing?

cheers

Graham_of_Rainham
16th July 2011, 03:13 PM
Hi,

I use an FL-CB05 quite a lot and the FL-50 works exactly the same on the cord as on the hot shoe. Sounds like something is wrong with the lead.

Have you got a continuity tester / meter to see if all the wires are intact ?

A simple bulb, wires & battery will work as continuity tester.

The one from Amazon, looks like the FL-CB05 connections so should work. If not with Amazon simply send it back for a replacement.

Good luck

Wreckdiver
16th July 2011, 03:30 PM
As Graham says, the Flash should behave exactly as it did when connected directly to the hot shoe. There are 4 inner conductors plus a screen/ground connection so you should get 5 continuity readings across the lead.

Steve

jdal
16th July 2011, 06:29 PM
Thanks for the info. I checked the contacts, all seemed ok. Put the flash back on the lead and this time tightened up the locking ring on the lead and the flash and it worked. Maybe it's a dodgy pin.

jdal
29th July 2011, 05:03 PM
Update:
Sent the cord back and got a working one back tout suite and my postage refunded without asking.

Top service, I'd say. :)

Graham_of_Rainham
29th July 2011, 07:24 PM
Pleased to hear your up and running. I really like using it because it provides full control but gets it off the camera.

A good flash bracket is also very useful investment for when you want to keep things togeather but still want the flash a bit away from the axis of the lens.

Have fun, and do please show us the results.

*chr

jdal
29th July 2011, 07:55 PM
I've bought an SLR gorillapod which I use for the camera when out climbing or when weight and space is an issue. It's also IDEAL for getting the flash in a good place, like wrapped around a tree branch to light this tramp's domicile under a damp overhang in the depths of a dark wood:
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6012/5988096411_f1b17aa082_b.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/johndal/5988096411/)
[
This was hand held flash, camera on the gorillapod:
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6021/5954029701_4c0c5c831e_b.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/johndal/5954029701/)

I needed a flash for this and I was too close to use on camera. Saves buying a ring-flash.